Physics Plagiarism Alert

Recent news, February 7 2003: This week, we learned from the media that an enquiry commission has submitted its report on the charges of plagiarism that are the focus of this website.

The report confirms that plagiarism has taken place. The commission specifically found the Vice-Chancellor of Kumaon University, Prof. B.S. Rajput, guilty of plagiarism. Here is one of the media reports:

Indian Express, February 4, 2003

Subsequently it was announced that Prof. Rajput has resigned as Vice-Chancellor of Kumaon University:

The Hindu, February 7, 2003

This page describes a shocking set of instances of plagiarism in Theoretical Physics by an Indian scientist holding a high official position, together with his colleagues.

If you are a physicist working in or concerned with Indian science, it is important that you view the contents of this page, convince yourself of what they represent and make your opinion known.

We have presented factual materials that we believe make it completely clear, without a shadow of doubt, that plagiarism has taken place. The identities of the perpetrators of this are also clear.

This page was created in the hope that serious action will be taken against those responsible for these shameful actions. Their actions pose a grave danger to the interests and reputation of Indian science.

(i) Here are two published papers. You can download them as PDF or PostScript files, print them and compare them for yourself.

Title: Superpotential from black holes Title: Axion-dilaton black holes with SL(2,Z) symmetry through APT-FGP model
Author: Renata Kallosh, Stanford University Authors: S.C. Joshi and B.S. Rajput, Kumaun University
Journal: Physical Review D, Vol 54, No. 8

Date of publication: 15 October 1996

Journal: Europhysics Letters, Vol. 57 No. 5

Date of publication: 1 March 2002

Download this paper (PDF) Download this paper (PDF)
Download this paper (PostScript) Download this paper (PostScript)

You may find it helpful to read a report on the comparison of the above papers:

Read Report

(ii) The above example is by no means an isolated one. We found that many other papers by the same group have been plagiarised in a similar way. Some of the most serious cases are described here in detail. One of these has now been withdrawn by the journal in which it was published (see note at the top of this page):

Read report (PDF) ���� Read report (PostScript)

(iii) Three more instances of unethical scientific practice by the same group are described in the following report:

Read report (PDF) ���� Read report (PostScript)

(iv) Here is information about which of the authors was the "corresponding author" for some of the papers described above.

Read report (PDF) ���� Read report (PostScript)

(v) The journal "Progress of Theoretical Physics" has published an Editor's Note withdrawing the paper of M.P. Singh and B.S. Rajput (see the report in section (ii) above), on the grounds that it is "not an original contribution".

Read this note


Here are links to some recent articles in the news media on this issue. Some of them feature comments from the concerned authors.

On October 11 2002, seven Faculty members at Stanford University, including three Nobel Laureates, wrote a letter to the President of India. They urged him to launch an investigation into the plagiarism scandal that has been described on this website.

Read Stanford letter (PDF) ��� Read Stanford letter (PostScript)

This webpage is endorsed by:

Radha Balakrishnan (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai)
V. Balakrishnan (Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai)
Rahul Basu (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai)
Kankan Bhattacharyya (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Jadavpur)
Debajyoti Choudhury (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad)
Atish Dabholkar (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Sumit Das (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Avinash Dhar (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Debashis Gangopadhyay (S.N. Bose National Centre, Kolkata)
Debashis Ghoshal (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad)
Rajesh Gopakumar (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad)
Suresh Govindarajan (Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai)
T.R. Govindarajan (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai)
Kumar Gupta (Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata)
A. Harindranath (Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata)
Pankaj Jain (Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur)
Dileep Jatkar (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad)
T. Jayaraman (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai)
S. Kalyana Rama (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai)
Sayan Kar (Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur)
Romesh Kaul (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai)
Alok Kumar (Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar)
Swapna Mahapatra (Utkal University, Bhubaneswar)
Parthasarathi Majumdar (Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata)
Rudra Prakash Malik (S.N. Bose National Centre, Kolkata)
Gautam Mandal (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Gautam Menon (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai)
Abhijit Mookerjee (S.N. Bose National Centre, Kolkata)
Sudipta Mukherji (Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar)
Sunil Mukhi (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Palash Pal (Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata)
Sudhakar Panda (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad)
Sriram Ramaswamy (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
Sumathi Rao (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad)
Arnab Rai Choudhuri (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
Pratap Raychaudhuri (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Probir Roy (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Shibaji Roy (Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata)
Varun Sahni (Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune)
Ashoke Sen (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad)
Diptiman Sen (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
Gautam Sengupta (Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur)
Ajit Srivastav (Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar)
Spenta Wadia (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)

Comments may be emailed to:
mukhi [at], sen [at]

Last updated: February 11, 2003 1