La Martiniere for Boys, Calcutta (Kolkata)

Hi Martinians ! Welcome to the unofficial LMC home page.

lmc.gif La Martiniere, Calcutta (Kolkata), was among the three schools founded by Major General Claude Martin. The other two schools are situated at Lucknow, India and Lyon, France.

Claude Martin was born at Lyon, France on 4th January, 1735 and came to India in the French Service in 1752. He was appointed Ensign in the Service of the East India Company in 1763, became Major General in 1775 and died at Lucknow on 13th September, 1800. The school was opened on 1st March, 1836.

Whether referred to as "La Marts" or "Lamartin" by outsiders who have never quite succeeded in figuring out the meaning of the Schools's unconventional name, La Martiniere has always retained a kind of mystique about itself. Above all, La Martiniere is a landmark in Calcutta (Kolkata), its magnificent building inspiring awe and admiration among visitors to the city.

Current News

School Motto

"LABOR ET CONSTANTIA" - By hard work and consistent effort, you can reach great heights in life.

School Song

Vive La Martiniere

Hail ! Hail ! the name we own,
Hail ! to the giver;
Blessing and bright renown,
Be his for ever !

All his martial deeds may die,
Lasting still his charity ;
This his Laurel blooms for aye
Dead he lives in us today,
This then our song shall be,
As we chant his eulogy -
"May our Founder's name endure
Ever spotless, ever pure."

Faithful may we ever be
Followers of his constancy;
Firm of hand against the foe
Soft of heart to sccour woe
This then our song shall be
As we chant his eulogy -
"May our Founder's name endure
Ever spotless ever pure !"


Famous Alumni

Class of 1990

Ashish Garodia * Jogesh B. Chandran * Ravi Sutodiya * Prateek Dutta * Sumeet Wadhera * Dhaneesh Kumbhani * Srivatsan Rajagopalan * Arif Zaman * Venkatesh Natarajan * Anurag Daga * Amit Sethia * Vivek Subramanian * Nishant Chandran * Harsh Vohra * Alok Dar * Kartick Shah * Anurag Srivastav * Siddharth Sen Roy * P.V. Shailendra * Saket Sapra * Jeet Banerjee * Nehal Shah * Rohit Sharma * Ambrish Seth * Sandeep Damani * P.Narula * Vikram Bakshi * Sameer Lumba * Rohit Malkani * Vineet Harlalka * Rajyavardhan Kajaria * Harsh Mittal * Anshuman Nathany * Jasgit Singh * Harendra Kumar Chakhaiyar * Sanjeev Saha * Abhishek Acharya * Prashant Khandelwal * Dushmanta Roy * Paramvir Singh * Yashesh Shethia * Girish Agarwal * Neelanjan Bhattacharji * Srinjoy

LMC Fact Sheet

Affiliated to the Indian School Certificate Education Board. (ICSE and ISC)
11, Dr. U.N. Bramhachari Street (Loudon Street),
(Kolkata) : 700 017. India.