Writers' Guild Awards 2009 shortlists announced

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain has announced the shortlists for its 2009 Awards covering TV, theatre, film, radio and video games.

The winners will be revealed at a reception on Sunday 29 November 2009 along with individual awards for Lifetime Achievement and Special Contribution to Writing for Children.

The Writers’ Guild Awards are sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society, BBC Writersroom, BBC Talent Rights, and H.W. Fisher & Company, the accountants with many media and trade union clients.

The Writers’ Guild Awards are special because the work of writers is honoured by their peers and colleagues. The Awards date back to 1961 and the list of recipients is a roll-call of the greatest British writers of the past half century.

This year’s event also marks the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain as an independent trade union affiliated to the TUC.

The 2009 Awards reception will be held at the Free Word Centre in Clerkenwell, central London, the newly-opened home of English PEN, Free Word, Index on Censorship, Arvon Foundation, Literary Consultancy, Reading Agency Apples & Snakes, Article 19, Booktrust and Dalkey Archive.

The shortlists

Television comedy / light entertainment

  • Outnumbered, by Andy Hamilton & Guy Jenkin

  • Peep Show, by Sam Bain & Jesse Armstrong

  • The IT Crowd, by Graham Linehan.

Television drama series

  • Being Human, by Toby Whithouse

  • Doctor Who, episodes by Russell T Davies and Stephen Moffat

  • Little Dorrit, adapted by Andrew Davies from the novel by Charles Dickens

Television soap / continuing series

  • Doctors, episodes written by Abby Ajayi, Andrea Clyndes, Andrew Cornish, Ann Gallivan, Arnold Evans, Bernard Padden, Bill Armstrong, Bradley Quirk, Caroline Gawn, Chris Boiling, Chris Webb, Claire Bennett, Dale Overton, Dan Muirden, Davey Jones, David Lloyd, David Semple, Dawn Harrison, Denise Watson, Dominique Moloney, Emma Ko, Eve Spence, Fiona Evans, Gary Lawson & John Phelps, Helen Farrall, Henrietta Hardy, Howard Hunt, Jeff Young, Joanna Quesnel, Jonathan Bennett, Jonathan Evans, Jonathan R Hall, Joy Wilkinson, Jude Tindall, Julia Weston, Justin Young, Karen Laws, Kate Delin, Kate McDonnell, Katharine Way, Keith Astbury, Lena Rae, Liam Duffy, Linda Thompson, Lisa Fulthorpe, Lol Fletcher, Lucy Blincoe, Lucy Gough, Maggie Innes, Marc Peirson, Marcus Goodwin,  Mark Chadbourne, Martin Day, Michael Chappell & Richard Stevens, Michael Levine, Miles Bodimeade, Neil McLennan, Nick Harrop, Nick Hoare, Nick King, Nick Reed, Nicola Schofield, Nicola Wilson, Olly Perkin, Paul Campbell, Paul Matthew Thompson, Paul Myatt, Philip Gawthorne, Philip Ralph, Ray Brooking, Rebecca Wojciechowski, Richard Stevens, Rob Kinsman, Rob Williams, Roland Moore, Sally Norton, Samina Baig, Simon Lubert, Stephen Keyworth, Stephen McAteer, Stephen Mollett, Suhayla El-Bushra, Susie Menzies, Tim Stimpson, Tina Walker, Tom Ogden, Tony Etchells, Tracey Black, William Johnston

  • Casualty, episodes written by Abby Ajayi, Tom Bidwell, David Bowker, Abi Bown, Mark Cairns, Mark Catley, Daisy Coulam, Dana Fainaru, Sasha Hails, Martin Jameson, Ian Kershaw, Karen Laws, Michael Levine, Paul Logue, Jeff Povey, Suzie Smith, Jason Sutton, Sally Tatchell, Ellen Taylor, Rob Williams, Justin Young

  • Coronation Street, episodes written by Carmel Morgan, Chris Fewtrell, Damon Rochefort, David Bowker, David Lane , Debbie Oates, Jan McVerry, Jayne Hollinson, Joe Turner, John Kerr, Jonathan Harvey, Julie Jones, Lucy Gannon, Mark Burt, Mark Wadlow, Martin Allen , Martin Sterling, Peter Whalley, Simon Crowther, Stephen Bennett

Television short form drama

  • The Devil's Whore by Peter Flannery and Martine Brant

  •  Criminal Justice by Peter Moffat

  • The Long Walk to Finchley by Tony Saint

Best feature film screenplay

  • The Damned United, adapted by Peter Morgan from the novel by David Peace

  • Hunger, by Enda Walsh, Steve McQueen

  • In the Loop, by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche, (additional dialogue by Ian Martin)

Feature film screenplay – newcomer

  • Is Anybody There? by Peter Harness

  • Shifty, by Eran Creevy

  • Summer, by Hugh Ellis

Best theatre play

  • Apologia, by Alexi Kaye Campbell

  • At the Gates of Gaza, by Juliet Gilkes Romero

  • Relocated, by Anthony Neilson

 Best theatre play for children and young people

  • Knock Against my Heart, by Oladipo Agboluaje

  • Red Fortress, by Carl Miller

  • Scarlet Ribbons, by Brendan Murray

Radio comedy / light entertainment

  • The Now Show, by Steve Punt, Hugh Dennis, Laura Shavin, Jon Holmes et al

  • 15 Minute Musicals, by Richie Webb, David Quantick and Dave Cohen

  •  Bleak Expectations, by Mark Evans

  • Cabin Pressure, by John Finnemore

Radio drama

  • A Prayer for Owen Meany, adapted by Linda Marshall Griffiths from the novel by John Irving

  • The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists, adapted by Andrew Lynch from the novel by Robert Tressell

  • The Gunshot Wedding, by Katie Hims

Video games award

  • Prince of Persia, by Andy Walsh

  • Fable II, by Mark Hill

  • Routes, by Tom Edge

Article published: 30.10.2009

arrow - back to top back to top