UEFA Champions League comprises of three qualifying rounds, a play-off round, a group stage and four knockout rounds.

In matches in the three qualifying rounds and the play-off stage, clubs play two matches against each other on a home and away basis, with the club scoring the greater aggregate of goals qualifying for the next round. In the event of both teams scoring the same number of goals, the team which scores more goals away qualifies.

Group stage
The ten winners in the play-off round ties – five from the best-placed path and five from the champions path – join 22 automatic entrants in the 32-team group stage. The clubs are split into eight groups of four teams, who play home and away against each of their pool opponents between September and December to decide which two teams from each pool advance to the first knockout round. The third-place finishers in each pool enter the UEFA Cup Round of 32.

Knockout phase
From the last 16 until the semi-finals, clubs play two matches against each other on a home and away basis with the same rules as the qualifying and play-off rounds applied. In the last 16, group winners play runners-up other than teams from their own pool or nation, while from the quarter-finals on the draw is free.

The final is decided by a single match - which this season will be played in Madrid.

Round of 16

AggFirst legSecond leg
Olympique Lyonnais-Real Madrid CF16/02 »10/03 »
AC Milan-Manchester United FC16/02 »10/03 »
FC Porto-Arsenal FC17/02 »09/03 »
FC Bayern München-ACF Fiorentina17/02 »09/03 »
VfB Stuttgart-FC Barcelona23/02 »17/03 »
Olympiacos FC-FC Girondins de Bordeaux23/02 »17/03 »
FC Internazionale Milano-Chelsea FC24/02 »16/03 »
PFC CSKA Moskva-Sevilla FC24/02 »16/03 »

First-leg home team shown first.
First-leg home team score shown first for both legs.

Qualifying round

Group stage

Final Phase

Full season matches »