Best of Both Worlds


News Archives

Seven OHL Graduates Named to Canada's Olympic Team

December 31, 2009


SASKATOON, Sask. – On Wednesday, Hockey Canada announced the men’s Olympic hockey roster that will be nominated to the Canadian Olympic Team. The announcement was made at a press conference in Saskatoon, Sask. that was broadcast live on 13 networks in partnership with Canada’s Olympic Media Broadcast Consortium.

The roster includes 20 players that have competed in the Canadian Hockey League including eight from the Western Hockey League, seven from the Ontario Hockey League, and five from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

CHL Players:



Martin Brodeur, St. Hyacinthe (1989-92)
Marc-Andre Fleury, Cape Breton (2000-03)
Roberto Luongo, Val d’Or/Acadie-Bathurst (1995-99)

Drew Doughty, Guelph (2005-08)
Duncan Keith, Kelowna (2002-03)
Scott Niedermayer, Kamloops (1989-92)
Chris Pronger, Peterborough (1991-93)
Brent Seabrook, Lethbridge (2001-05)
Shea Weber, Kelowna (2002-05)

Patrice Bergeron, Acadie-Bathurst (2002-03)
Sidney Crosby, Rimouski (2003-05)
Ryan Getzlaf, Calgary (2001-05)
Jarome Iginla, Kamloops (1993-96)
Patrick Marleau, Seattle (1995-97)
Brenden Morrow, Portland (1995-99)
Rick Nash, London (2000-02)
Corey Perry, London (2001-04)
Mike Richards, Kitchener (2001-05)
Eric Staal, Peterborough (2000-03)
Joe Thornton, Sault Ste. Marie (1995-97)

Click here to watch a video feature courtesy of Rogers TV about Drew Doughty and how he has given back to the Guelph Storm this season.

Canada’s Men’s Olympic Team executive director Steve Yzerman (Nepean, Ont./Detroit, NHL) made the announcement, along with the members of the team’s management staff: Bob Nicholson (president/CEO, Hockey Canada), Johnny Misley (executive vice-president, hockey operations, Hockey Canada) and associate directors Doug Armstrong (Sarnia, Ont./St. Louis, NHL), Ken Holland (Vernon, B.C./Detroit, NHL), Kevin Lowe (Lachute, Que./Edmonton, NHL) as well as head coach Mike Babcock (Saskatoon, Sask./Detroit, NHL).

In addition to the players, the staff is also complete with CHL experience.

Executive Director Steve Yzerman - Peterborough Petes (1981-83)
Associate Director Ken Holland - Medicine Hat Tigers (1974-76)
Associate Director Kevin Lowe - Quebec Remparts (1976-79)
Head Coach Mike Babcock - Saskatoon/Kelowna (1980-81, 1982-83) and coach of Moose Jaw/Spokane (1991-93, 1994-2000).
Associate Coach Jacques Lemaire - Coach of Longueuil Chevaliers (1982-83)
Associate Coach Lindy Ruff - Lethbridge Broncos (1976-79)
Associate Coach Ken Hitchcock - Coach of Kamloops Blazers (1984-90)

All 23 players have international experience, including 53 gold medals, eight Olympians and, as a group, the players have played in 702 international games, 13,136 NHL regular season games and 1,219 NHL playoff games.

For more information including the complete roster please visit


Tags: Seven Graduates Named Canada's Olympic

© 2009 Ontario Hockey League. All rights reserved. is published by the Ontario Hockey League. All content contained in this web site, including photographs and team logos are copyright of the Ontario Hockey League and it’s Member Teams. No part of this material may be copied or reproduced without the prior written consent of the Ontario Hockey League.