About the Awards
Retro Hugo Awards


By Year
By Category

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee
Records and Tallies

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

The Retro-Hugos are Hugo-like awards given retroactively to works and people eligible 50 years prior to a current World SF Convention. They've been awarded only three times, in 1996, in 2001, and in 2004.

Who Members of the World SF Convention.
Dating convention Year following year of eligibility; e.g., the awards presented in 1996 were called the 1946 Retro Hugo Awards.
Issues and controversies Many are skeptical of the validity, or point, of determining nominations and winners 50 years after the fact. Current reputations influence the results far more than analysis of historical importance.
Process Voting for the Retro Hugos parallels rules and procedures for the Hugo Awards.

Copyright 2000-2009 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved