NORTHERN ONTARIO JUNIOR HOCKEY LEAGUE 2004-05 AWARD WINNERS

March 27, 2005

Sudbury – The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League is proud to announce the league award winners for 2004-05. The recipients are:

Carlo Cattarello Trophy - Most Valuable Player

Thomas Laplante, Blind River Beavers

Onaping Falls Huskies Trophy - Most Gentlemanly Player

Ryan Maunu, Soo Thunderbirds

John Grignon Trophy - Rookie of the Year

Yves Bastien, North Bay Skyhawks Matt Caria, Soo Thunderbirds

NOJHL Trophy - Best Defenseman

Josh Merson, North Bay Skyhawks

Gilles Laperriere Trophy - Most Improved Player

Kevin King, Blind River Beavers

Mitch Tetreault Memorial Trophy - Top Defensive Player

Marc Andre Rizk, North Bay Skyhawks

NOJHL Trophy - Best Overall Team Player

Mitch Champagne, Abitibi Eskimos Kyle Jones, Soo Thunderbirds

Joe Drago Trophy - Executive of the Year

Mike Rowlandson, Rayside Balfour Sabrecats

Red McCarthy Memorial Trophy - Coach of the Year

Toots Kovacs, Soo Thunderbirds

NOJHL Trophy - Team Goaltenders Award

Mike Lalande and Chris Abbey, North Bay Skyhawks

Wayne Chase Memorial Trophy - Goaltender with the Best GAA

Mike Lalande, North Bay Skyhawks

Jimmy Connors Memorial Award – League Scoring Champion

Thomas Laplante, Blind River Beavers

NOJHL Scholastic Player of the Year

Paul Pidutti, Sudbury Northern Wolves



First All-Star Team

Steve Hamel Abitibi Eskimos Goal Defense Josh Merson North Bay Skyhawks

Sudbury Northern Wolves Kyle Hope

Blind River Beavers Centre Thomas Laplante Brian McGarry Left Wing Sudbury Northern Wolves

Right Wing Matt Dias Soo Thunderbirds **Toots Kovacs** Soo Thunderbirds Coach Manager Alan Jones Soo Thunderbirds Trainer Tom Stagg North Bay Skyhawks Bill Syms Soo Thunderbirds

Second All-Star Team

Mike Maulucci Soo Thunderbirds Goal Defense Nick Torresan Abitibi Eskimos

> Northern Michigan Black Bears John Nogatch

Centre Matt Caria Soo Thunderbirds Adam Chircoski Abitibi Eskimos Left Wing Right Wing North Bay Skyhawks Tyler Perry

Coach Gerry Lortie Northern Michigan Black Bears

Don Lees Jr. Blind River Beavers Manager

Trainer Mike Desmoreau Rayside Balfour Sabrecats