Also on Cyclingnews

Blogs Last updated: March 23, 14:18

More Blogs


Elite Men: 183km

Ginanni spoils Lampre's party

Cycling News
February 20, 16:38,
February 20, 19:17

Gavazzi and Pietropolli forced to settle for second and third

An exultant Francesco Ginanni (Androni Giocattoli)

An exultant Francesco Ginanni (Androni Giocattoli)

view thumbnail gallery

Androni Giocattoli's Francesco Ginanni flew to victory in the 47th edition of the Trofeo Laigueglia on Saturday afternoon, his second win at the race in as many seasons.

In a large bunch finish the Italian dashed to an impressive sprint win on Laigueglia's Via Roma, ahead of Lampre duo Francesco Gavazzi and Daniele Pietropolli. With Lampre's main sprinter Alessandro Petacchi ruled out prior to the event with a stomach virus, Ginanni admitted afterwards he was able to take maximum benefit from his rivals' experience in rapid finales.

"I took the wheel of Gavazzi," said Ginanni. "Lampre was well organized for the final sprint, with several men present at the front. For my part I tried not to miss any moves and I'm really happy it worked out so well in the end. "

Ginanni's triumph at the end of the 183 kilometre journey around the seaside region followed on from victory in the same event last year. His success today was also his first victory of the season and his first since August at the GP Industria e Commercio Artigianato Carnaghese.

The great escape is foiled

The passage of the race was marked by a nine-man group that escaped on the back of a spirited early acceleration by De Rosa-Stac Plastic's Damiano Caruso.

Caruso was joined by Donato Cannon (Ceramica Flaminia), Paolo Longo Borghini (ISD-Neri), Stefano Pirazzi (Colnago-CSF Inox), Luca Zanasca (CDC-Knight), Pasquale Muto (Miche), Alexandre Pichot (BBox Bouygues Telecom), Guillamme Bonnafond (Ag2r-La Mondiale) and René Mandri (Ag2r-La Mondiale).

After 71 kilometres the group had lost just one of its number - Zanasca - and had built up a buffer of 6:30 over the peloton behind. The man who started it all, Caruso, remained aggressive as he claimed three of the four climber's primes on offer.

However, despite their strong co-operation, a determined peloton worked hard to shut down the escape. A series of counter-attacks were dealt with the same response from a fifty-strong main group as the race drove towards a sprint finale.

Taking advantage of the well-drilled Lampre outfit, Francesco Ginanni (Androni Giocattoli) unleashed his own sprint to seal victory on the Via Roma, where he dedicated his win to the late Italian national cycling coach, Franco Ballerini.

"I dedicate my win not only Franco Ballerini but also to his entire family: his wife Sabrina and their children Gian Marco and Matteo," said an emotional Ginanni at the finish in Laigueglia.

Full Results
1 Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 4:48:15  
2 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
3 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
4 Enrico Rossi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
5 Matteo Montaguti (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
6 Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
7 Jure Kocjan (Slo) Carmiooro NGC    
8 Cyril Dessel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
9 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Team Katusha    
10 Enrico Zen (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
11 Arthur Vichot (Fra) Française Des Jeux    
12 Aleksandr Kuschynski (Blr) Liquigas-Doimo    
13 Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
14 Alexander Efimkin (Rus) AG2R La Mondiale    
15 Ludovic Turpin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
16 Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo    
17 Oscar Gatto (Ita) ISD - Neri    
18 Maxime Vantomme (Bel) Team Katusha    
19 Simone Ponzi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
20 Biel Kadri (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
21 Fabio Taborre (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
22 Mickaël Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne    
23 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
24 Hubert Schwab (Swi) Vorarlberg - Corratec    
25 Rene Mandri (Est) AG2R La Mondiale    
26 Alexandre Pichot (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom    
27 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana    
28 Jaroslaw Dabrowski (Pol) Amore & Vita - Conad    
29 Edwin Carvajal Jaramillo (Col) Miche    
30 Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
31 Damien Gaudin (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom    
32 Francesco Bellotti (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
33 Evgeny Petrov (Rus) Team Katusha    
34 Andrea Noe (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
35 Cristiano Salerno (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
36 Federico Canuti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
37 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
38 Damiano Caruso (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
39 Brian Vandborg (Den) Liquigas-Doimo    
40 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche    
41 Francesco Failli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
42 Michael Rasmussen (Den) Miche    
43 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
44 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
45 Marco Cattaneo (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
46 Massimo Giunti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:09  
47 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia 0:00:17  
48 Damien Monier (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne 0:00:25  
49 Alexandr Pliuschin (Mda) Team Katusha    
50 Luca Ascani (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere 0:00:59  
51 Vladislav Borisov (Rus) Amore & Vita - Conad 0:01:49  
52 Leonardo Scarselli (Ita) ISD - Neri 0:02:02  
53 Diego Caccia (Ita) ISD - Neri    
54 Fausto Fognini (Ita) Amore & Vita - Conad    
55 Silvère Ackermann (Swi) Vorarlberg - Corratec    
56 Julien Loubet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:03:58  
57 David Tratnik (Slo) Zheroquadro Radenska 0:04:03  
58 Valeriy Dmitriyev (Kaz) Astana    
59 Roman Kireyev (Kaz) Astana    
60 Davide D'Angelo (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere    
61 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Française Des Jeux    
62 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Vorarlberg - Corratec    
63 Aristide Ratti (Ita) Carmiooro NGC    
64 Davide Torosantucci (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere    
65 Reto Hollenstein (Swi) Vorarlberg - Corratec    
66 Vincenzo Garofolo (Ita) Team Nippo    
67 Francis Mourey (Fra) Française Des Jeux    
68 Rémi Cusin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne    
69 Alessandro Fantini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
70 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
71 Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) BBox Bouygues Telecom    
72 Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) ISD - Neri    
73 Simon Clarke (Aus) ISD - Neri    
74 Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
75 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) AG2R La Mondiale 0:04:58  
76 David Tratnik (Slo) Zheroquadro Radenska 0:05:03  
77 Jérémy Roy (Fra) Française Des Jeux    
78 William Bonnet (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom    
79 Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) ISD - Neri    
80 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) ISD - Neri    
81 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
82 Stefano Borchi (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
83 Sebastien Fournet Fayard (Fra) Carmiooro NGC    
84 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Team Katusha    
85 Enrico Magazzini (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
86 Marcello Pavarin (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
87 Luca Solari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli