Bieler Bros. Records
TeamsPress RoomScores/SchedulesFan ZoneThe CHLTicketsStatistics

Rapid City's Joe Ferras Named CHL Coach of the Year

Joe Ferras Named CHL Coach of the Year

The Central Hockey League (CHL) announced today that Rapid City Rush Head Coach Joe Ferras has been selected the recipient of the 2009-10 Central Hockey League Coach of the Year award following balloting among all 15 CHL head coaches.  The award is ‘presented annually to the Central Hockey League coach adjudged to have contributed most to his team’s success.’ 

In his second season with the Rush, Ferras won a very close race for the top coaching honor receiving five first place votes, two second place votes and three third place votes (coaches could not vote for themselves).  First place votes earned five points, second place votes earned three points and third place votes earned one point.  Coming in second, just two points behind Ferras, was Allen American Head Coach Dwight Mullins and finishing third was Odessa Jackalopes Head Coach Paul Gillis.  Also receiving first place votes were Terry Ruskowski (Laredo) and Kevin McClelland (Colorado).

CHL Coach of the Year Balloting


Total Points   
Joe Ferras 5 2 3 34
Dwight Mullins 3 5 2 32
Paul Gillis 4 1 4 27
Ferras has guided the Rush to their first playoff appearance in their second season as a franchise leading them to a 43-13-6 record.  In his seventh season as a CHL head coach, the Brantford, Ontario native has led his teams to post-season play in five of those seven seasons and was the 2004 CHL Coach of the Year runner-up while serving as the head coach of the Amarillo Gorillas. 

The former two-time NCAA All-American at Plattsburgh State University has coached two CHL teams (Rapid City and Amarillo) and has compiled a 226-178-38 record good for a .554 winning percentage.  His 442 games coached in the CHL ranks seventh on the league’s all-time list and his 226 wins are 10th. 

Ferras enjoyed a 13-year professional playing career after staring at Plattsburgh State University, where he had his uniform number retired in 2002.  In 2004, he was given the Rick Kozuback Award, given annually by the CHL to a member of the CHL family who has shown perseverance and commitment to the game of hockey.  

The Rush have been near the top or in the lead of the Northern Conference for most of the 2009-10 regular season never losing more than four games in any given month.  Rapid City is closing in on winning the Northern Conference leading by three points over the Colorado Eagles with two games to play in the regular season.      

The CHL Most Outstanding Defenseman and the CHL Most Outstanding Goaltender (Scott Brower Award) will be announced on Friday, March 19.  The CHL Most Valuable Player recipient will be announced on Monday, March 22.

2010 CHL Awards that have already been announced are:
CHL Athletic Trainer of the Year – Stuart Nichols, Tulsa Oilers
CHL Gunner Garrett Equipment Manager of the Year – Tony Deynzer, Colorado Eagles
CHL Man of the Year – Justin Quenneville, Corpus Christi Ice Rays
CHL All-Rookie Team – F: Sean Muncy (RGV), Nick Sirota (MIZ), Ryan Garbutt (CRP), D: Jake Obermeyer (AMA), Sean Erickson (TUL), G: Danny Battochio (RPD)
All-CHL Team – F: Riley Nelson (COL), Kevin Ulanski (COL), Les Reaney (RPD), D: Aaron Schneekloth (COL), Derek Eastman (TUL), G: Joel Martin (ODE)
CHL Rookie of the Year - Danny Battochio, Rapid City Rush

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
January 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005
December 2004
November 2004
October 2004
September 2004
August 2004
July 2004
June 2004
May 2004
April 2004
March 2004
February 2004
January 2004
December 2003
November 2003
October 2003
September 2003
August 2003
July 2003
June 2003
May 2003
April 2003
March 2003
February 2003
January 2003
December 2002
November 2002
October 2002
September 2002
August 2002
June 2002
May 2002
April 2002
March 2002
February 2002
January 2002
December 2001
October 2001
September 2001
July 2001
May 2001
February 2000
CHL Points
Facebook Right
Twitter Right Ad
2009-10 CHL Guide and Record Book
Oakley 3 Stars Award
Coaches Poll