Department of History & Welsh History Cymraeg Prifysgol Aberystwyth University Department of History & Welsh History
Department of History & Welsh History,Hugh Owen Building, Aberystwyth University, Aberystwyth,Ceredigion SY23 3DY
Tel: 01970 622662 Fax: 01970 622676 Email:
News & Events
Undergraduate Admissions
Degree Scheme Details
Handbooks & Booklets
Current modules
Previous examination papers
Teaching through Welsh
Departmental Prizes
Visiting Us
Postgraduate Studies in History
Postgraduate Information
About the Department
Material considerations:
Funding - How to apply
Handbooks & Booklets
Staff Research
Research seminar
Postgraduate research seminar
History links
Research Postgraduates
Postgraduate History Forum 2009
Departmental research centres
Centre for media history
Centre for the social and cultural history of Wales
Centre for research in historiography and historical culture
Departmental research projects
AHRC projects:
Private Law & Medieval Village Society
Seals in Medieval Wales (SiMeW)
BOCS Projects:
Resorts Project
Monastic Wales
Collaborative activity
Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
British Academy network
AHRC Ireland-Wales Network



History has been taught as a subject at British universities for over a century. The University at Aberystwyth was founded in 1872 and History has been there since its foundation.

The Department is recognized as one of the foremost history departments in Britain.

Its recent excellent results in the National Student Survey [ ] are testimony to a commitment to teaching as well as to excellence in research.

It has a staff of over twenty lecturers, whose teaching and research expertise range widely. To find out more about the work of the department, both in terms of its teaching and its research, please follow the links on these pages.

The Department of History and Welsh History is located on the University Campus close to the University Library, the Union, the Sports Hall and most of the Halls of Residence.


Visiting Day Information














This page was last updated by Angela Hopson on 6 November 2008