The 750 guests at Wolves' end-of-season dinner are now ready for the main event of the evening, the awards!

Host from Sky Sports Clare Tomlinson welcomes chairman Steve Morgan to the stage who reveals he had a private three-year plan for Wolves to get promoted under his stewardship.

And they've done it in two!

"We've got the nucleus of a good team for next season and to say anything else would be completely disrespectful to the players that have got us there," says Steve.

"At the same time of course we will add to the squad and we will spend money - just ask any of the players here tonight if they want to get relegated."


Steve then distributes a Wolves Aid cheque for £22,000 to the Albrighton Trust Moat and Garden Project as part of the charity fundraising now carried out by the club's charity.  The Trust's chairman Bill Jukes is delighted to receive the cheque.

Steve then hands over a special framed shirt to Bob Laslett of outgoing sponsors Chaucer Consulting and pays tribute to their support over the last five years.

Andy McIlver, chief executive of, Wolves' new club sponsors, is then welcomed to the stage after a video presentation. Andy is presented with a framed Wolves shirt featuring by Steve.

Mick McCarthy is next up to the stage to a standing ovation.

He talks about certain turning points in the season, but praises his team for being "brilliant" over the whole campaign.

Two highlights in particular, he describes, are Sheffield United and Crystal Palace away from home.

The key to the success? he is asked. "The manager" he jokes.

But he then pays tribute to "Table 21" - his backroom staff - and his players, who he says will battle for him all the time.

Mick finishes with a final question to the fans asking them to "stay off the pitch" on Sunday so he and his players can enjoy their success with their fans.

Time to start the awards, with the Academy player of the season sponsored by directors John Gough and John Bowater.

And the winner is.....Scott Malone.

With Scott currently playing abroad with Wolves' partner club Ujpest, it's his parents who pick up the award.

Next up is the Young Professional Of The Year Award...won by Sam Vokes.

Now the Fan of the Year award, as sponsored by the Express & Star, which goes to John Reynolds.

Champagne Moment is next, with a few contenders, including the home win against Nottingham Forest, away success at Sheffield United, or Andy Keogh's dramatic winner at Derby.

But the envelope is screwed up by Clare, because the winner is the game against QPR which sealed promotion! No arguments there! Karl Henry and Jody Craddock step up to receive the award.

Top goalscorer is next, and it's not difficult to guess the recipient of this one!

After a montage featuring plenty of Wolves goals this season, the award is handed out to 25-goal man Sylvan Ebanks-Blake.

Now for the Players' Player accolade. Top three nominations as chosen by the players are Sylvan, Stephen Ward and Kevin Foley.

And it's Sylvan Ebanks-Blake who takes the prize.

Goal of the Season is next up,  For the first time this award has been decided by the fans via text voting.  Plenty of nominations, there have been plenty of goals!

The winner is Andy Keogh, thanks to his impressive opening goal against Derby during the recent 3-2 win.

Finally, onto the big one, the Fans' Player of the Seaosn award as voted for by Season Ticket Holders.

Ebanks-Blake, Foley and Jody Craddock are the nominations.

And the winner is..... Kevin Foley.