WCRP-Header
WCRP
WCRP IHDP IGBP DIVERSITAS ESSP WCRP-Home
Climate ChangeClimate PredictionExtremes and Risks
Floods and DroughtsSnow and IceChemistry and ClimateEarth Systems
AboutWCRP
Activities and Projects
Products and Gallery
Meeting Calendar
Contact us
NavMenuBottom
WMOIOC ICSU
WCRP
Governance

Scientific guidance for the WCRP is provided by the Joint Scientific Committee, consisting of 18 scientists selected by mutual agreement between the three sponsoring organizations and representing climate-related disciplines in atmospheric, oceanic, hydrological and cryospheric sciences. Implementation of WCRP's programme takes place through the Joint Planning Staff (JPS) in Geneva and Paris, in the International Project Offices (IPOs) and co-opted contributors from many agencies. Each project has a Scientific Steering Group (SSG; see 'Activities & Projects'). An Agreement among our three sponsors defines the WCRP's Objectives and the JSC's Terms of Reference (see Agreement).


JSC-31: 15-19 February 2010, Susesi Hotel, Antalya, Turkey


Joint Scientific Committee for WCRP (as from 1 January 2010)


Chair

Professor A. Busalacchi
ESSIC, University of Maryland, USA
E-mail: tonyb@essic.umd.edu 

(Please see welcome statement from Chair, JSC)

busalacchi

Vice-Chair:

Dr D.J. Griggs
Monash University, Australia
E-mail: dave.griggs@msi.monash.edu.au

Members:

Dr K.A. Anaman
Institute of Economic Affairs, Ghana
E-mail: kwabenaasomanin@hotmail.com    

Professor R. Ardakanian
UN-Water Decade Programme on Capacity Development, Bonn, Germany
E-mail: ardakanian@unwater.unu.edu

Dr G. Flato
Environment Canada
E-mail: greg.flato@ec.gc.ca 

Dr S. Gille
Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA
E-mail:
sgille@ucsd.edu 

Dr F. Giorgi

Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Italy
E-mail: giorgi@ictp.it

Professor B.N. Goswami
Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology
E-mail: goswami@tropmet.res.in

Dr V. Kattsov

Voeikov Main Geophysical Observatory, Russia
E-mail: kattsov@main.mgo.rssi.ru

Professor H. Le Treut
IPSL Université de Paris, France
E-mail: letreut@lmd.jussieu.fr

Professor J. Marotzke (Officer)
Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Germany
E-mail: jochem.marotzke@zmaw.de

Professor T. Nakajima
University of Tokyo, Japan
E-mail: teruyuki@ccsr.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Professor V. Ramaswamy (Officer)
NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, USA
E-mail: v.ramaswamy@noaa.gov

Dr F. Semazzi
North Carolina State University, USA
E-mail: fred_semazzi@ncsu.edu

Professor J. Slingo
University of Reading, UK
E-mail: j.m.slingo@reading.ac.uk 

Professor C. Vera (Officer)
University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
E-mail: carolina@cima.fcen.uba.ar 

Dr I. Wainer
Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil
E-mail: wainer@usp.br

Professor Guoxiong Wu (Officer)
Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
E-mail: gxwu@lasg.iap.ac.cn

 

International Project Offices

CliC International Project Office
Tromsø, Norway
E-mail: clic@npolar.no
Web: http://ipo.npolar.no/org/address.php

International CLIVAR Project Office
Southampton, United Kingdom
E-mail: icpo@noc.soton.ac.uk
Web: http://www.clivar.org

International GEWEX Project Office
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
E-mail: gewex@gewex.org
Web: http://www.gewex.org/igpo.html

SPARC International Project Office
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
E-mail: sparc@atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca
Web: http://www.atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca/SPARC/office.html

SOLAS International Project Office
Norwich, Norfolk, United Kingdom
E-mail: SOLAS@uea.ac.uk
Web: http://www.uea.ac.uk/env/solas/contact.html

Contact: WCRP