Team Profile

Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content


Base: Maranello - Italy
Team Principal: Stefano Domenicali
Technical Chief: Aldo Costa
Drivers: F Massa
  F Alonso
Chassis: F10
Engine: Ferrari 056
Tyres: Bridgestone Potenza
First Season: 1950
World Championships: 16
Highest race finish: 1 (x211)
Pole Positions: 203
Fastest Laps: 220
(L to R): Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari with Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 3, Malaysian Grand Prix, Race Day, Sepang, Malaysia, Sunday, 4 April 2010


Strong start to season with one-two finish at round one in Bahrain, but hampered by engine reliability issues in early races and lack outright pace of Red Bull and McLaren rivals. Intense internal competition between Alonso and Massa.

Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari F2009.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 10, Hungarian Grand Prix, Race, Budapest, Hungary, Sunday, 26 July 2009


Never in title contention thanks to rivals' superior progress, Massa's life-threatening accident (and his stand-ins' dearth of pace), and a lack of development as they opt to focus early on following season. More competitive midseason, with Spa win for Raikkonen, who is dropped for Alonso for 2010.

Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari on the grid.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 18, Brazilian Grand Prix, Race, Interlagos, Sao Paulo, Brazil, Sunday, 2 November 2008


Eight wins help power them to their 16th constructors' title, beating McLaren by 21 points. Felipe Massa misses out on drivers' championship by a single point to Lewis Hamilton, despite winning more races.

Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari celebrates on the podium
Formula One World Championship, Rd17, Brazilian Grand Prix, Race Day, Interlagos, Sao Paulo, Brazil, Sunday, 21 October 2007


Win intense battle with McLaren, on track and in court. Kimi Raikkonen takes drivers' title after late-season surge in form. Also wrap up constructors' championship after McLaren found guilty of benefitting from possession of confidential Ferrari data.

Race winner Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari celebrates on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 14, Turkish Grand Prix, Race, Istanbul Park, Turkey, 27 August 2006


Initially play second fiddle to Renault, but Michael Schumacher leads fightback with seven victories in his final Formula One season. Team move ahead of Renault with just three rounds to go, but rare reliability issues see them beaten to title by just five points.

Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari F2005.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 9, United States Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Indianapolis, USA, 18 June 2005


Struggle with new regulations, in particular those requiring tyres to last through qualifying and race. Seven podiums, including one victory at Indianapolis, where Michelin withdrawal leaves six-car field. Finish third in constructors' standings.

Race winner Rubens Barrichello (BRA), second place Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari celebrate on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Rd15, Italian Grand Prix, Race Day, Monza, Italy, 12 September 2004


Lose just three times in 18 races to take the constructors' crown for the sixth year in a row. An incredible 13 victories for Michael Schumacher sees him take championship number seven.

Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari F2003-GA qualified on pole.
Formula One World Championship, Rd6, Austrian Grand Prix, A1-Ring, Austria, 17 May 2003


A much tougher season, but still ultimately unbeatable. A record fifth successive constructors' title, with Michael Schumacher the first man to take six drivers' crowns.

From left to right: David Coulthard(GBR)McLaren Mercedes MP4-15, 2nd, Ross Brawn, Winner Michael Schumacher(GER)Ferrari F1-2000 and third placed Rubens Barrichello(BRA)Ferrari F1-2000 Malaysian GP, Sepang, 22 October 2000. World © SUTTON

2000 - 2002

Ferrari enter a period of total domination, winning both drivers' and constructors' titles three years in a row.

Michael Schumacher(GER) Ferrari F399 accident at Stowe on lap 1 Formula One World Championship, British GP, Silverstone, 11 July 1999. World ©  Sutton.


Michael Schumacher misses six rounds after breaking leg at Silverstone. Team take constructors' championship in the last race but Eddie Irvine just falls short of drivers' title.

Winner Rene Arnoux(FRA) Ferrari 126C3 Dutch GP, Zandvoort, 28 August 1983. World ©  Phipps/Sutton


Ferrari wins their eighth constructors' championship.

Jody Scheckter (RSA) Ferrari Jody Scheckter (RSA) Ferrari 312T4 finished the race in second position. United States Grand Prix West, Rd 4, Long Beach, California, USA, 8 April 1979. World © Phipps/Sutton


Jody Scheckter wins the drivers' championship - it will be the team's last drivers' title for 21 years.

Niki Lauda (AUT) Ferrari 312T crowned his first World Championship title with a pole position and a flag to flag victory. United States Grand Prix, Watkins Glen, 5 October 1975. World ©  Phipps/Sutton

1975 - 1977

Niki Lauda takes the 1975 drivers' championship and comes back from his horrific accident in 1976, going on to grab a second title for the team in 1977.

John Surtees (GBR) Ferrari 158 3rd place. British Grand Prix, Brands Hatch, England, 11 July 1964.


John Surtees, a former world motorcycle champion, takes the drivers' crown. He remains the only man to achieve the feat on two wheels and four.

Phil Hill (USA) Ferrari 156 finished third in the opening race of the season. Monaco Grand Prix, Monte Carlo, 14 May 1961. World © Phipps/Sutton


Phil Hill leads Ferrari to the double of both drivers' and constructors' championships.

Mike Hawthorn (GBR) Ferrari, 1958 World Champion. Formula One World Championship, 1958. World © Phipps/Sutton


Mike Hawthorn becomes the third Ferrari driver to win the drivers' championship.

Race winner, Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG) Ferrari D50 in Becketts corner. British Grand Prix, Silverstone, England, 14 July 1956.


Juan Manuel Fangio wins his fourth drivers' championship with the Scuderia.

Ferrari drivers, Piero Taruffi (ITA), Giuseppe Farina (ITA) and Alberto Ascari (ITA) race winner. British Grand Prix , Silverstone, England, 19 July 1952.


Alberto Ascari wins first of two back-to-back drivers' championships in a Ferrari.

Giuseppe Farina (ITA) Alfa Romeo 159 No. 1, leads eventual race winner Froilan Gonzalez (ARG) Ferrari 375 No. 12 away at the start of the race. The win by Gonzalez was the first for Ferrari in a World Championship Grand Prix. Formula One World Championship, Rd5, British Grand Prix, Silverstone, England, 14 July 1951.


Jose Froilan Gonzalez records Ferrari's first victory at the British Grand Prix.


01 McLaren-Mercedes 109
02 Ferrari 90
03 RBR-Renault 73
04 Mercedes GP 60
05 Renault 46
06 Force India-Mercedes 18
07 Williams-Cosworth 6
08 STR-Ferrari 2
09 BMW Sauber-Ferrari 0
10 Lotus-Cosworth 0
11 HRT-Cosworth 0
12 Virgin-Cosworth 0