Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteEast Ward Union


East Ward Workhouse and Poor Law Union

East Ward Union comprises the parishes of Appleby, Ashby, Bongate, Brough, Colby, Crackenthorpe, Crosby Garrett, Dufton, Hartley, Hillbeck, Hoff, Kaber, Kirkby Stephen, Kirkby Thore, Mallerstang, Long Marton, Milburn, Murton, Musgrave, Nateby, Newbiggin, Ormside, Orton, Ravenstonedale, Soulby, Brough Sowerby, Temple Sowerby, Stainmore, Waitby, Warcop, Wharton and Winton.

The Workhouse for the East Ward Union, at North End in the Parish of Kirkby Stephen, is a plain building of stone, designed to accommodate 120 inmates. 

Workhouse Staff 1896
Andrew Mackreth Workhouse Master
Mrs Elizabeth Mackreth Workhouse Matron
Matthew R. Fairer Medical Officer

Records Available from Kendal Record Office, County Offices, Strickland Gate, Kendal, Cumbria. LA9 4RQ
Telephone:- U.K. 01539 773540

Link to Website of Constables Census Westmorland 1787

Page updated August 06, 2007 .
Copyright Rossbret 2001. All rights reserved.