Bloomington (H.S.)

Background Information

  • Season Summaries
        (Titles, Won-Lost Records,
        and Head Coaches)
  • Bloomington High School
    1202 E. Locust St. (, Google map, other maps)
    Bloomington, IL 61701-3394
    Phone: 309-828-5201
    Fax: 309-829-0178
    School ID No.: 0222
    School Web Site: www.bhs87.org

    Conference(s): Big Twelve
    Boys Nickname: Purple Raiders
    Girls Nickname: Purple Raiders
    Colors: Purple/Gold
    Enrollment: 1534
    Classes (2, 3, 4-class systems): AA, 2A, 3A
    Type: Public Coed
    School Year:
    County: McLean
    Cities in District: Bloomington
    Board Division: 5
    Legislative District: 15

      Administration

    Superintendent: Dr. Robert Nielsen (nielsenr@district87.org)
    Phone: 309-827-6031
    Fax: 309-827-5717
    Principal: Mr. Tim Moore (Official Rep.) (mooret@district87.org)
    Phone: 309-828-5201
    Fax: 309-829-0178
    Administrative Assistant: Donna Salch (salchd@district87.org)
    Phone: 309-828-5201

      Boys Athletics
    Boys Athletic Director: John Szabo (szabojohn@district87.org)
    Phone: 309-828-5220
    Fax: 309-829-0178
    Administrative Assistant: Crystal Taylor (taylorc@district87.org)
    Phone: 309-828-5201

    Boys Baseball: Steve Clapp (clapps@district87.org)
    Boys Basketball: Peter Goff (goffp@district87.org)
    Boys Cross Country: John Szabo (szabojohn@district87.org)
    Boys Football: Rigo Schmelzer (schmelzerf@district87.org)
    Boys Golf: Rich Gordon (gordonr@district87.org)
    Boys Soccer: Tony Bauman
    Boys Swimming & Diving: Robert Loy
    Boys Tennis: Tim Link (twlink85@yahoo.com)
    Boys Track & Field: John Szabo (szabojohn@district87.org)
    Boys Wrestling: Mark Gardner

      Girls Athletics
    Girls Athletic Director: John Szabo (szabojohn@district87.org)
    Phone: 309-828-5220
    Fax: 309-829-0178
    Administrative Assistant: Crystal Taylor (taylorc@district87.org)
    Phone: 309-828-5201

    Competitive Cheerleading: Tiffany Michaels (tiffanymichaels27@hotmail.com)
    Girls Basketball: Sondra Findley (findleys@district87.org)
    Girls Bowling: Mary Pat Brady (bradym@district87.org)
    Girls Cross Country: John Szabo (szabojohn@district87.org)
    Girls Golf: Tom Waterson (watersont@district87.org)
    Girls Soccer: Tony Bauman
    Girls Softball: Kat McCreery (mason_kat@hotmail.com)
    Girls Swimming & Diving: Robert Loy
    Girls Tennis: Tim Link (twlink85@yahoo.com)
    Girls Track & Field: Roland Brent (brentr@district87.org)
    Girls Volleyball: Joe Sanders

      Activities
    Activities Director: Doug Jordan (jordand@district87.org)
    Phone: 309-828-5201
    Fax: 309-829-0178

    Chess Team: Robert Vogel (vogelr@district87.org)
    Debate: Michael Riley
    Journalism: Alan Kuchefski (kuchefskia@district87.org)
    Music Organization: Max Chernick (chernickm@district87.org)
    Music Solo & Ensemble: Max Chernick (chernickm@district87.org)
    Music: Instrumental: Max Chernick (chernickm@district87.org)
    Music: Other: Karen Monhardt
    Music: Vocal: Dennis Morissey
    Pom Poms: Byron Reynolds (soillproductions@aol.com)
    Scholastic Bowl: Debbie Voorhees
    Speech Individual Events: Casey Kelly (kellyc@district87.org)
    Spirit: Tiffany Michaels
    Student Council: Doug Jordan

    Last updated on June 3, 2010.