Boateng handed Ghana spot
Getty Images

Kevin-Prince Boateng was today included in Ghana's 23-man squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™.

Berlin-born Boateng played for Germany at every level up to and including under-21, but he recently opted to switch his allegiance to Ghana after becoming frustrated with a lack of opportunities under German national team boss Joachim Low.

And he survived the cull which saw coach Milovan Rajevac reduce his squad from 30 players to the required 23. Stephen Adams, Eric Addo, Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu, Laryea Kingston, Haminu Draman and Bernard Kumordzi were the men to miss out.

Boateng's inclusion sets up a tasty encounter against Germany in Johannesburg on 23 June.

The Portsmouth midfielder recently came in for criticism for a heavy challenge on Germany captain Michael Ballack in the FA Cup final which led to the Chelsea star being ruled out of the tournament with an ankle injury. The match against Germany could also see Boateng come up against his half-brother Jerome, who plays for Hamburg.

Ghana were dealt a blow last week when it was confirmed key midfielder Michael Essien had been ruled out due to knee and ankle injuries which saw him miss the majority of the English Premier League season with Chelsea.

Ghana and Germany are joined in Group D by Serbia and Australia.

The Ghana squad

Goalkeepers: Richard Kingson (Wigan/ENG), Daniel Agyei (Liberty Professionals/GHA), Stephen Ahorlu (Hearts of Lions/GHA)

Defenders: Samuel Inkoom (FC Basel/SUI), Jonathan Mensah (Grenada/ESP), Lee Addy (Bechem Chelsea/GHA), Rahim Ayew (Zamalek/EGY), Hans Sarpei (Bayer Leverkusen/GER), John Mensah (Sunderland/ENG), Isaac Vorsah (Hoffenheim/GER), John Paintsil (Fulham/ENG).

Midfielders: Sulley Muntari (Inter Milan/ITA), Derek Boateng (Getafe/ESP), Anthony Annan (Rosenborg/NOR), Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese/ITA), Andre Ayew (Arles-Avignon/FRA - on loan), Stephen Appiah (Bologna/ITA), Quincy Owusu Abeyie (Al Sadd/QAT), Kevin-Prince Boateng (Portsmouth/ENG)

Forwards: Matthew Amoah (NAC Breda/NED) Asamoah Gyan (Rennes/FRA), Prince Tagoe (Hoffenheim/GER), Dominic Adiyiah (AC Milan/ITA)

*Please note that squad lists only become official after they have been submitted to and announced by FIFA.