A.R. Rahman, best known for his work on the score for the Academy Award-winning film "Slumdog Millionaire," announced today (Mar. 4) that he will embark on a world tour this summer.
The "A.R. Rahman Jai Ho Concert: The Journey Home World Tour" kicks off June 11 at the Nassau Coliseum in New York and will span 16 major cities worldwide.
For the trek, Rahman is collaborating with creative director Amy Tinkham, who has worked to create concerts for Britney Spears, the Backstreet Boys and Mariah Carey. The tour will not only feature Rahman's music, but also dance arrangements and acrobatics inspired by his native India. A press release described the concert as a "theatrical experience" utilizing "new technologies."
The announcement comes after Rahman took part in the 2010 remake of "We Are The World" to benefit Haiti.
Performances on the A.R. Rahman Jai Ho Concert: The Journey Home World Tour will include songs from Slumdog Millionaire as well as the Indian films Lagaan, Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na, Dil Se, Rang De Basanti and Roja'.
Additional dates have yet to be announced.

Here are the tour dates for the A.R. Rahman Jai Ho Concert: The Journey Home World Tour:


June 11, 2010, Friday: Uniondale, N.Y. (Nassau Coliseum)
June 12, 2010, Saturday: Atlantic City, N.J. (Boardwalk Hall Arena)
June 13, 2010, Sunday: Washington, D.C. (Patriot Center)

June 18, 2010, Friday: Chicago, Ill. (Sears Centre Arena)
June 19, 2010, Saturday: Detroit, Mich. (Pontiac Silverdome)
June 20, 2010, Sunday: Toronto, Ontario (Air Canada Centre)

June 26, 2010, Saturday: San Francisco, Calif. (Oracle Arena)
June 27, 2010, Sunday: Los Angeles, Calif. (The Forum)

June 30, 2010, Wednesday: Vancouver (PNE Collesium)

July 3, 2010, Saturday: Houston, Texas (Houston Toyota Center)
July 4, 2010, Sunday: Dallas, (American Airlines Center)

July 11, 2010, Sunday: Raleigh, (North Carolina)

July 16, 2010, Friday: Zurich (Hallen Stadion)
July 17, 2010, Saturday: Paris, France (Parc des Expositions, Porte de Versaille)
July 18, 2010, Sunday: Germany (SAP Arena, Mannheim)

July 23, 2010, Friday: Birmingham (LG Arena)
July 24, 2010, Saturday: London (O2)
July 25, 2010, Sunday: London (Wembley)

 
 

© 2010 arrahman.com All rights reserved. Site Powered by MovieTalkies.com