

AMERICAN ECONOMIC ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN IN THE ECONOMICS PROFESSION

CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award ("Bell Award") is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring others.

Professor Bell wrote in the 25th Anniversary Newsletter, in the Fall of 1997, the following:

"We need every day to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of these words, the award requires that the traveling plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

CSWEP represents women's points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in diverse professional environments – academia, government and business

Inquiries, nominations and donations may be sent to:

Lisa Lynch, CSWEP Chair Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy Tufts University 160 Packard Ave. Medford, MA 02155 cswep@tufts.edu

The Next Nomination Deadline is September 15, 2006

For more information please visit our website <u>www.cswep.org</u>