Ray Guy Award

The Ray Guy Award – named for football’s premier punter – honors the nation’s best collegiate punter. The Augusta Sports Council created the award in 2000. Along with awards such as the Heisman Trophy and the Doak Walker Award, the Ray Guy Award honors one of the most important members of any football team. The ASC presents the award live each year on the ESPNU College Football Awards Show broadcast from Orlando, Florida.

The Ray Guy Award winner is selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners. Punters are evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis is place on the following statistics: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

Augusta orthopedic surgeon and sculptor Dr. John Savage Jr. created the bronze Ray Guy Award trophy in the likeness of the punting legend.

About Ray Guy

A native of Thomson, Georgia, Ray Guy lettered in both baseball and football at Southern Mississippi, but his football exploits are legendary. In his first collegiate game, Guy booted a 77 yard punt - one of three times in his career that he had kicks of over 70 yards. His career average over three varsity seasons was 44.7 yards, including the 1972 season when he averaged 46.2 yards per kick and was a unanimous choice for All American. He capped his college career with a punt that went a whopping 93 yards.

In 1973, Guy became the first pure punter ever drafted in the first round of the NFL draft. In 14 years with the Oakland Raiders, Guy was an integral weapon in propelling the Raiders to three Super Bowl titles and appeared in seven Pro Bowls.

In 2004, Ray Guy was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, becoming the first punter to achieve the honor.

Past Recipients

2000 Kevin Stemke University of Wisconsin
2001 Travis Dorsch Purdue University (2002 Draft, Cincinnati)
2002 Mark Mariscal University of Colorado
2003 B.J. Sander Ohio State University (2004 Draft, Green Bay)
2004 Daniel Sepulveda Baylor University
2005 Ryan Plackemeier Wake Forest University (2006 Draft, Seattle)
2006 Daniel Sepulveda Baylor University (2007 Draft, Pittsburgh)
2007 Durant Brooks Georgia Tech (2008 Draft, Washington)
2008 Matt Fodge Oklahoma State University
2009 Drew Butler University of Georgia
Ray Guy Award
Our Corporate Partners