Please direct all questions, comments, or feedback about User Reviews to reviews@harmony-central.com.
Effects Reviews > Ashbass > FUZZbrite

Ashbass FUZZbrite

Summary
Manufacturer URL ashbass.en.audiofanzine.com
Ease of Use 9.8 (66 responses)
Sound Quality 9.6 (66 responses)
Reliability 9.5 (49 responses)
Customer Support 9.8 (47 responses)
Overall Rating 9.7 (63 responses)

* In an effort to build our HC 2.0 community all written reviews will be entered on HC 2.0 Beta

Write a Review on HC 2.0 Beta


Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 (Show 10 | 25 | 50 | 100 reviews per page) Showing 1 - 10 of 69 reviews
Advertisement
Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: USD 110.00
Submitted 11/24/2009 at 01:20am by Tele

Ease of Use : 10
This is a great fuzz box, no more no less. 2 knobs will take you where you need to go.

Sound Quality : 10
I'm running this with a tele and AC30 type amp, it makes for a raunchy sound.

Reliability : 10
Yes.

Customer Support : 10
Very nice.

Overall Rating : 10
I've been playing for many many years and love the sound of this box. I would definately get another if this was stolen.


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: GBP 70
Submitted 07/16/2009 at 01:54am by Bornin69

Ease of Use : 10
Two knobs, volume and depth. Couldn't really be simpler. It's no trouble at all to get the sound it's designed to make.

Sound Quality : 9
I'm playing a 1990s Japanese Tele '62 Custom RI and an SG Special faded, both equipped with Catswhisker pickups, into a Vox AC4TV for home use and a 1990s Peavey Classic 50 for stage use. What this pedal delivers is classic, nasty, Pebbles / Nuggets style mid-'60s fuzz of a kind which all the various smoothed-out Muff-type fuzzes on the market right now just can't do. This thing spits and snarls. What it also does is stack up superbly with other pedals - kick on a Tubescreamer or similar and you can go from garage-band nirvana to that late '60s Jimi vibe instantly. Noise? Yes, there's a little, but what do you expect from a fuzz? Plus there's zero tone suckage when the unit's off. The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is that it's not going to be for everybody - but if you're into the kind of sound it makes you can't go wrong.

Reliability : 10
The build seems rock-solid. I've got other pedals which feel worryingly flimsy (Electro-Harmonix, for example) and this is the polar opposite. There are still '60s Mosrite Fuzzrites around and working today (and going for ridiculous prices online) and I expect this Fuzzbrite to be just as hardy as the original.

Customer Support : 10
I've emailed Ashley Bass on a few occasions and the replies have always been extremely prompt and helpful. Can't be faulted, really.

Overall Rating : 10
I play everything from blues to '60s punk to noise-rock to alt-country and beyond, and have been playing for twenty-five years or so. Fuzz has been a favourite sound of mine since I first heard 'Satisfaction' and the Stooges, and I've been through a lot of stompboxes trying to get that sound without the muddy bass-heaviness of a lot of more modern fuzzes: finally I've found the pedal I was looking for. It's simple but perfect at what it does. If anything happened to it I'd get another in a second.


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: USD 105.00
Submitted 07/14/2009 at 12:55pm by SJK
Email: thesjkexperience<at>yahoo dot com

Ease of Use : 10
2 knobs. Best to set to 8 or above and there you have it.

Sound Quality : 10
I use this mostly for surf as this (as are most fuzzes) is/are not that versatile. Jazzmaster >> FUZZbrite >> Nova Delay >> amp with Tremolo and Reverb.

I have lots of fuzz boxes and this one is just plain fun! I like this or my byoc triangle muff for surf.

One important note is if you want it to sound like the old ones you need to get the cheap carbon/zinc batteries from the dollar store. Use modern batteries make the top end a bit piercing.

Reliability : No Opinion
Cant say. The components are in a clump of bondo (of chewing gum I cant tell), so like other gooped pedals you cant fix it IF it does go bad.

Customer Support : No Opinion
They seem nice.

Overall Rating : 10
A great fuzz for what it does. I dont know why they put an LED on it as it is obvious when it is on and it just drains the battery faster. It would also be nice to offer two models with the option of a smaller box, but for how I use it the larger size is fine.


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: USD 105.00
Submitted 06/30/2009 at 01:04pm by jeff senn

Ease of Use : 10
Two Knobs, input, output, on-off LED and AC input
Easy as it gets

Sound Quality : 9
As far as getting a good true 60's Fuzz sound that does not sound like every fuzz face clone out there this things excels and you'll be hard pressed to find better. For Instrumental fans of the Ventures, Shadows or Japanese Eleki sounds it's the bomb. At lower settings with the guitar volume turned down you can get very close to sitar sounds. Very Cool. Iron Butterfly to Neil Young to Takeshi Terauchi, can be subtle and twangy or over the top sustain and buzz.
I'm giving it a 9 because under the Harmony Central ratings 10 has "pristine" after it. This thing is too trashy sounding in a great way to call "pristine" and that's why it's so cool. It's true bypass as well for any of you who think that's dandy

Reliability : 10
I solder for a living and upon opening the unit to install a battery I was impressed by the neatness and good looking solder joints so I don't perceive any problems with reliability. It's built like they were 40 years ago, right. I've read some great comments on Ashley's customer service so the product is definitely backed up by someone who cares

Customer Support : 10
Was notified when shipped, arrived quickly and subsequent emails were answered quickly.
I wish I was this good

Overall Rating : 10
I play a lot of styles of music with a lot of old wacky and not so wacky guitars. I bought this for 60's instrumental music and it does that extremely well and extremely convincing. You can't beat the price but if it were twice as much I'd still buy it (and I'm cheap when it comes to pedals) and if something happened to it I'd replace it immediately. There are a lot of sounds in this pedal. Didn't think I'd find something like this, with all the over engineered and over thought boutique pedals out there. This one's a perfect copy of the Mosrite and it's well executed.


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: USD 95.00
Submitted 05/12/2009 at 04:11pm by cf

Ease of Use : 10
easy to use. two knobs for vol and depth.

Sound Quality : 10
hands down the best fuzz i have ever played. im selling my 60's maestro fuzztone and a byoc tonebender clone i built. using a non reverse firebird, sg standard and a jr through a fender vibro king nothing else in the chain. all three guitars sound great with this pedal. i play 60's garage styled r n r. this can go from stooges wanna be your dog to mudhoney touch me im sick to davie allan and the arrows wild angels theme.

Reliability : 10
so far so good. no need for a backup unless i had two of these. ****, i would run them together.

Customer Support : 10
emailed to say thanks for building an amazing pedal and got a response and a link to this site for a user review. good people.

Overall Rating : 10
they built a plain looking pedal that works real real well. no crappy graphics or silly cliche names, just an amazing fuzz. best one i have ever played by far.


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: UNKNOWN
Submitted 09/04/2008 at 08:06am by ohnosquidyo

Ease of Use : 9
Switch, Depth and Volume knobs, battery or a/c adapter. Very straight forward. I thought mine was defective, but found out it was my power adapter.

Sound Quality : 10
What can I say, this pedal is one of a kind. Reproduces that classic mosrite 60's fuzz. My setup is fairly cheap, an ibanez hollowbody and a very cheap 15 watt amp. I just love the different sounds that come out of my setup. Really worth more than the price and cheaper than pulling a Link Wray on the speaker cones.

Reliability : 10
Haven't used it for that long, but it's a metal box that I'm sure can take some abuse. The only reason I would need a backup is if got stolen.

Customer Support : 10
Don't know, too early to tell. Probably will get stolen before it warrants any repair. Seller seems like an honest person.

Overall Rating : 10
I've heard and tried demos of other fuzz pedals, but this one in particular has a certain metallic feel to it that I love. As a first pedal, this one is really fun and simple. Well priced and a great value that's easier to find than the original.


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: 50
Submitted 05/16/2008 at 12:19pm by Croc-Skin Man

Ease of Use : 9
Easy to use, just on/off switch and two knobs, Volume and Depth, both of which can be used to shape it's sound, although I personally wouldn't use either of them much below 7 or 8.

Sound Quality : 10
I listen to and play predominantly Garage, psychedelic, rock 'n' roll/rockabilly. I mainly use a 60's re-issue Tele/Kay ET200 through either a Selmer Zodiac Twin Fifty or Laney 2x12 VC30. This pedal is without doubt, THE best fuzz I have used or heard, period. Forget Smooth Big Muff tones, this thing spits and grinds and sounds like your speakers are very close to ripping themselves apart! The top end is pretty dangerous, and with my Tele and Selmer it's enough to take the top of your head off, so maybe increasing the low end on your amp a bit would help prevent bleeding ears. This thing is pure 60's, and I would not be surprised at all if it was a germanium transistor, however we'll never know as Ashley Bass has coated it in some sort of putty stuff, presumably to protect against copies, which is more than fair enough! I usually use this with the volume knob about 7/8 and the depth around 9, as full whack is just a teeny bit too much if you actually want to hear the notes. Mine is the slightly upgraded version, with the orange LED, and supposedly true bypass, however the tone when this is off is slightly dulled, could possibly be wrong with just mine though as it has been gigged a lot!

Reliability : 7
I've had this for about half a year now and absolutely no problems until about 2 weeks ago when it made some nasty crackling noises and struggled to stay on, but i literally gave it a light kick and it's been fine since. It's built like a tank which stands to reason seeing as it is just a large box made of metal and I've used It at a lot of gigs with lots of sweaty and energetic spectators stamping on it and there's been no problems, would definitely use it without a backup, I already do! Also picks up Polish Radio but this is quite entertaining if you turn up your amp and tune it a bit with the two knobs.

Customer Support : 7
Haven't had to deal with Ashley Bass and I don't think I will have to anytime soon, the website is good though and it was packaged nice and snug and shipped very promptly.

Overall Rating : 9
I bought this because a friend told me about how amazing his was, and he was right! I've been playing nearly 10 tears and this is hands down my favourite and most used pedal. I also own a Big Muff Pi which I bought before this in search of a 60's sounding fuzz pedal and it's ok, but it's nothing compared to the FUZZbrite. Apparantly the Yardbirds used one at some point, which makes sense as this pedal is 60's to the core, not only in sound quality but looks too. It's also extremely loyal to the original Mosrite Fuzzrite in both design and sound (there is a recording on the Ashbass website of the same riff played through both an Ashbass and a Mosrite and they're identical) This pedal is perfect for any Garage/psychedelic player, and also good for more modern grungey/trashy stuff (think ***** Galore if you've heard them). If this were stolen I would be EXTREMELY P*SSED OFF!, but I would definitely buy another, no doubt. One last thing, this pedal just creates fuzz riffs on it's own, this thing makes it easy! Buy one and try it, and if it goes wrong just kick it!


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: UNKNOWN
Submitted 04/22/2008 at 04:45pm by michael

Ease of Use : No Opinion
this review goes to the guy that gave this pedal a four on sound quality.
What was he thinking?

Sound Quality : No Opinion
seriously, this pedal makes all of my effects stand out. when i turn down the depth knob... it just makes my tone thick and stand out really nice...old school style warm and pleasing how it should be. i use the fuzzbrite before my whammy and wow.. sounds like a synth and then add some delay with some shifting and a taste of modulations. your in for a warm synth sounds... my god, this pedal rocks and i love it as much as my fuzz factory............noise baby noise!!!!

Reliability : No Opinion
A++++

Customer Support : No Opinion
A++++

Overall Rating : No Opinion
A++++


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: UNKNOWN
Submitted 04/21/2008 at 12:00pm by MR.FUZZ
Email: MIKESABINO11 at HOTMAIL<dot>COM

Ease of Use : 10
EASY AND SIMPLE

Sound Quality : 10
WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY ABOUT THIS PEDAL....IS "WOW" SOUNDS REALLY GOOD THERE'S SO MUCH TONES YOU CAN GET FROM IT STRAIGHT OUTTA 60'S SOUND... LOVE IT AND I WOULD NOT CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT IT. BUT I DO NOTICE THAT IT WORKS BETTER WITH SUPER HEAVY DUTY BATTERIES AND THEY ARE DIRT CHEAP YOU CAN BUY IT AT A DOLLAR STORE.. 10+++++++

Reliability : 10
BUILT LIKE IT'S FROM THE 60'S NICE AND BEAUTIFUL AND SIMPLE... SIMPLICITY IS BEAUTY

Customer Support : 10
VERY GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE PEDAL ARRIVED RIGHT AWAY ASHLEY BASS IS ONE OF THE REAL DEAL BOUTIQUE PEDAL MAKERS OUT THERE... THANKS FOR SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT

Overall Rating : 10
I PLAY NUMEROUS TYPES OF MUSIC FROM 60'S 70'S 80'S 90'S INDIE, AFRICAN, TO NOISE, INDUSTRIAL.. AND IM STILL ABLE TO APPLY THIS PEDAL WITH IT AMAZING. NOTHING SOUNDS LIKE THIS NOW A DAYS SERIOUSLY BUY ONE ASAP AND YOU'LL BE AMAZE..


Product: Ashbass FUZZbrite
Price Paid: UNKNOWN
Submitted 03/18/2008 at 10:25am by Dave C

Ease of Use : 10
Plug your cables in and away you go 2 knobs volume and depth do exactly as they say

Sound Quality : 10
For those of you wanting that nuggets/garage sound this is thee pedal beutiful fuzz you cannot help but knock at all those classic riffs!! No noise drop out mine aint picking up any radio stations. Combined this with a colorsound wah vox pathfinder amp and gibson sg voila ron ashton!(i wish)

Reliability : 10
Defo gonna be recording gigging with this looks solid cannot see any probs apart from someone trying to thief it (and if somebody did id buy a new one)

Customer Support : 10
Wow what a price infact the price put me of a little because i thought in my snobbish way something this cheap (for this kinda pedal) was gonna be average at best couldnt be more wrong also very reasonable p&p; to the UK and from ordering to arriving in my post box was 6 days (thats US to UK better than most UK companies) BUY IT

Overall Rating : No Opinion

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 (Show 10 | 25 | 50 | 100 reviews per page) Showing 1 - 10 of 69 reviews

© 1995-2010 Harmony Central, Inc. All rights reserved.