Federal Aviation Administration

Part 139 Airport Certification

  • Print
  • |  Updated: 4:37 pm ET June 19, 2009


In 2004, FAA issued a final rule that revised the Federal airport certification regulation [Title 14, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Part 139 (14 CFR Part 139] and established certification requirements for airports serving scheduled air carrier operations in aircraft designed for more than 9 passenger seats but less than 31 passenger seats. In addition, this final rule amended a section of an air carrier operation regulation (14 CFR Part 121) so it would conform with changes to airport certification requirements. The revised Federal airport certification requirements went into effect on June 9, 2004.

Data, Tools, and Resources


Regional Supplemental Guidance

Additional guidance on this topic is available for the following regions of the country: