Swedish champion Andreas Jonsson has declared himself fit for the FIM PGE Polska Grupa Energetyczna Speedway World Cup Race-Off at Vojens on Thursday night.

The SGP star has been named in Peter Jansson’s side in place of Valsarna rider Daniel Nermark, who scored just one point at King’s Lynn on Monday.

Jonsson missed the meeting as he was suffering with muscle inflammation on his shoulder blade.

But after coming through a rain-affected practise in Denmark on Wednesday, the Dackarna and Bydgoszcz star looks set to offer his country some serious point-scoring power.

He will be joined in the yellow helmets by Grand Prix rivals Freddie Lindgren and Magnus Zetterstrom, Rio Rocket Antonio Lindback and Jonas Davidsson, who impressed with 14 points on Monday night.

The Swedes are the only nation to make a change to their line-up prior to the Race-Off, as Denmark, Russia and Australia stick with the same five riders who raced in Events One and Two earlier this week.

Hosts Denmark, who race in white, are still without three-time world champion Nicki Pedersen, but will be led by Vojens rider Hans Andersen and Kenneth Bjerre, who rode his Danish league meetings at the venue last season.

Bjarne Pedersen keeps his place after leading his side’s scorechart at Gorzow on Sunday with 11 points. He is joined by Niels Kristian Iversen and Nicolai Klindt.

Australian champion Chris Holder spearheads his country’s challenge and is joined by SGP series reserve Davey Watt in the red helmets. The in-form Troy Batchelor, World Under-21 champion Darcy Ward and Rory Schlein complete a young Aussie line-up.

Meanwhile, Russia track impressive teenager Artem Laguta, alongside his brother Grigory, Roman Povazhny, Renat Gafurov and Denis Gizatullin. They don the blue helmets as they bid to reach their second straight SWC Final.


1 Dave Watt (Captain)
2 Darcy Ward
3 Rory Schlein
4 Troy Batchelor
5 Chris Holder
Team Manager Craig Boyce

1 Artem Laguta
2 Grigory Laguta (Captain)
3 Roman Povazhny
4 Denis Gizatullin
5 Renat Gafurov
Team Manager Stanislav Khan

1 Kenneth Bjerre
2 Nicolai Klindt
3 Niels Kristian Iversen
4 Bjarne Pedersen
5 Hans Andersen (Captain)
Team Manager Jan Staechmann

1 Fredrik Lindgren
2 Jonas Davidsson
3 Magnus Zetterstrom (Captain)
4 Andreas Jonsson
5 Antonio Lindback
Team Manager Peter Jansson

Subscribe Subscribe to news via RSS
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Email to a friend

More News


All four FIM PGE Polska Grupa Energetyczna Speedway World Cup finalists track unchanged sides for their showdown in Vojens on Saturday ......

view more >>


Swedish star Andreas Jonsson says there is more to come from him in the Speedway World Cup Final on Saturday after helping his side to second place ......

view more >>


GSI, media rights holders for the British Elite League, have won the international rights for the Polish Ekstraliga in a three-year deal. The ......

view more >>


Danish skipper Hans Andersen says his side has no fears about tackling FIM PGE Polska Grupa Energetyczna Speedway World Cup favourites Poland on home ......

view more >>

Champ Standings 2010

Pos Riders Pts
1st Jaroslaw Hampel 92
2nd Tomasz Gollob 90
3rd Jason Crump 75
4th Kenneth Bjerre 66
5th Chris Holder 60
6th Rune Holta 56
7th Hans Andersen 56
8th Nicki Pedersen 51
9th Andreas Jonsson 48
10th Fredrik Lindgren 43
11th Magnus Zetterstrom 43
12th Chris Harris 42
13th Greg Hancock 41
14th Tai Woffinden 28
15th Emil Sayfutdinov 27
16th Janusz Kolodziej 12
17th Antonio Lindback 6
18th Adrian Miedzinski 6
19th Davey Watt 6
20th Piotr Protasiewicz 5
21st Scott Nicholls 4
22nd Matej Kus 3
23rd Leon Madsen 3
Results >> 2009 Final Standings >>