Labonte to drive for JTG Daugherty in 2011

Veteran to replace departing Ambrose behind wheel

By Team Release
July 28, 2010
02:46 PM EDT
Save Article Email Article Print Article RSS
type size: + -

JTG Daugherty Racing announced today that 2000 Cup Series champion Bobby Labonte will take the reins as driver of the No. 47 Toyota Camry for the 2011 Cup 36-race schedule.


"JTG Daugherty Racing is a solid race team that has come close to winning races with Marcos Ambrose and I'm looking forward to developing our new partnership in 2011," Labonte said. "The team is thriving and their technical alliance with MWR [Michael Waltrip Racing] is intact. It's great to have next year already set in stone so when this season ends we can begin focusing on next year right away. Everything is in place and we have all the right ingredients to win races together."

Labonte's credentials speak for themselves. He is a 21-time Cup Series winner with 26 pole awards, 114 top-five and 199 top-10 finishes. Team owners Jodi and Tad Geschickter and Brad Daugherty are pleased Labonte accepted the offer as they enter their third season of full-time competition.

"We are really happy Bobby has decided to join our team because I have known him for a long time and I have always admired him as a professional driver and as an individual," Daugherty said. "He will do an outstanding job representing our products and team. He has gotten to a point in his career that he still has some things to accomplish. He is highly experienced with a championship on his résumé and we know he is capable of winning."

"We would like to give a warm welcome to Bobby as he joins the JTG Daugherty Racing family," said Jodi Geschickter. "We know he is an amazing fit for our sponsors and racing organization."

This announcement follows Marcos Ambrose's decision to part ways with JTG Daugherty Racing at the end of the year.

The End

Share Article Save Article Email Article Print Article RSS
  • MySpace
  • Facebook
  • Digg


Remember To Check Out

All External sites will open in a new browser window. NASCAR.COM does not endorse external sites.
© 2001-2010 NASCAR | Turner Sports Interactive, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital Network NASCAR.COM is part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Digital Network.