A A A Email Friend
Gutierrez claims title with pole bonus

Esteban Gutierrez celebrates Monza pole and the GP3 titleEsteban Gutierrez has secured the inaugural GP3 Series title by taking pole position for the final round at Monza in this morning's qualifying session.

Having moved to the top of the order with five minutes remaining, ART driver Gutierrez improved his time by almost 0.5 seconds on his final flying lap to claim pole with a 1m43.425s.

In doing so, he protected himself from a late charge from Mucke's Renger van der Zande, who also improved his time dramatically on his last lap but ended up falling 0.288s short. The two points on offer for pole were enough to finally put Gutierrez beyond the reach of rival Robert Wickens.

Jenzer driver Nico Muller, who led the early phase of the session, will share the second row with Tobias Hegewald (Mucke), leaving Wickens (Status) consigned to fifth alongside Atech CRS driver Roberto Merhi, who endured two spins along the way.

The session was interrupted by two brief bursts of yellow flags after Tech 1's Daniel Juncadella and Gutierrez's ART team-mate Alexander Rossi skidded into the barriers, while Vittorio Ghirelli also had to get a lift back to the pits after spinning his Atech CRS car into the gravel just after the chequered flag.

Pos  Driver                Team       Time       Gap
 1.  Esteban Gutierrez     ART        1m43.425s
 2.  Renger van der Zande  RSC Mucke  1m43.713s  + 0.288s
 3.  Nico Muller           Jenzer     1m43.788s  + 0.363s
 4.  Tobias Hegewald       RSC Mucke  1m43.891s  + 0.466s
 5.  Robert Wickens        Status     1m43.940s  + 0.515s
 6.  Roberto Merhi         Atech CRS  1m43.971s  + 0.546s
 7.  Josef Newgarden       Carlin     1m43.980s  + 0.555s
 8.  Nigel Melker          RSC Mucke  1m44.040s  + 0.615s
 9.  Daniel Morad          Status     1m44.097s  + 0.672s
10.  Rio Haryanto          Manor      1m44.109s  + 0.684s
11.  James Jakes           Manor      1m44.170s  + 0.745s
12.  Felipe Guimaraes      Addax      1m44.225s  + 0.800s
13.  Simon Trummer         Jenzer     1m44.370s  + 0.945s
14.  Pedro Nunes           ART        1m44.422s  + 0.997s
15.  Oliver Oakes          Atech CRS  1m44.460s  + 1.035s
16.  Doru Sechelariu       Tech 1     1m44.462s  + 1.037s
17.  Mirko Bortolotti      Addax      1m44.540s  + 1.115s
18.  Lucas Foresti         Carlin     1m44.548s  + 1.123s
19.  Pablo Sanchez Lopez   Addax      1m44.560s  + 1.135s
20.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs   Manor      1m44.609s  + 1.184s
21.  Pal Varhaug           Jenzer     1m44.728s  + 1.303s
22.  Leonardo Cordeiro     MW Arden   1m44.736s  + 1.311s
23.  Daniel Juncadella     Tech 1     1m44.810s  + 1.385s
24.  Miki Monras           MW Arden   1m44.898s  + 1.473s
25.  Michael Christensen   MW Arden   1m44.902s  + 1.477s
26.  Dean Smith            Carlin     1m45.098s  + 1.673s
27.  Vittorio Ghirelli     Atech CRS  1m45.184s  + 1.759s
28.  Alexander Rossi       ART        1m45.353s  + 1.928s
29.  Stefano Coletti       Tech 1     1m45.378s  + 1.953s
30.  Ivan Lukashevich      Status     1m45.991s  + 2.566s
 Go to earlier story Go to the News Index Go to next story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Get news alerts to your mobile
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Wickens victorious in final GP3 race
Gutierrez takes hard-earned win
Q & A: Gutierrez on clinching GP3 title
Gutierrez fastest in Monza practice