Frick Award Ballot Voting Begins at Museum’s Facebook Page on Sept. 1

Fan Vote Will Place Three Names on Final Ballot

August 23, 2010
Jon Miller was the 2010 winner of the Ford C. Frick Award. (Milo Stewart Jr./National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)

Vote Now on the Poll tab!

View bios of each Ford C. Frick Award candidate

COOPERSTOWN, NY – Thousands of baseball fans have already used Facebook to stay connected to their heroes at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. Once again this year, baseball fans can nominate their favorite broadcaster for the Hall of Fame's prestigious Ford C. Frick Award through the Museum's Facebook presence, beginning Sept. 1 and running through Sept. 30.

Online voting for fan selections for the 2011 Frick Award will begin at 10 a.m. EDT on Wednesday, Sept. 1 at the Hall of Fame's Facebook site and will conclude at 5 p.m. EDT on Sept. 30. The top three fan selections from votes tallied at the site during September will appear on the final 10-name ballot for the award. The 2011 Frick Award winner will be selected by a 20-member electorate, with the winner to be announced at baseball's Winter Meetings in Orlando in December.

Presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting, the Ford C. Frick Award is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. Fans will have the opportunity to select from more than 200 broadcasters eligible for consideration for the 2011 Ford C. Frick Award. Bios of each candidate will appear at

The final 2011 Frick Award ballot will feature 10 names, comprised of the top three fan selections along with seven other candidates to be determined by a Hall of Fame research team. The Frick electorate includes all living Award-winners and five historians/veteran media members appointed by the Hall of Fame.

The voting electorate consists of 20 members, featuring 2010 Ford C. Frick Award winner Jon Miller and the other 14 living Frick Award winners: Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Milo Hamilton, Jaime Jarrin, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Dave Niehaus, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff. The five historians and veteran media members also part of the electorate include: Bob Costas (NBC/MLB Network), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of New York Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

For the eighth consecutive year, fans will choose three members of the ballot through online voting. In 2009, Tom Cheek, Jacques Doucet and Joe Nuxhall earned spots on the final Frick Award ballot via fan voting. Cheek paced all broadcasters in fan voting with 5,930 votes, Doucet was second in the fan balloting with 5,183 votes and Nuxhall followed with 1,363 votes.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open from 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. seven days a week through the day before Labor Day. Regular hours are from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. daily from Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend. Ticket prices are $16.50 for adults (13 and over), $11 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $6 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger. For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.