Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Office for Intellectual Freedom

50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 280-4223
Fax: (312) 280-4227
E-mail: oif@ala.org

Mission

Established December 1, 1967, the Office for Intellectual Freedom is charged with implementing ALA policies concerning the concept of intellectual freedom as embodied in the Library Bill of Rights, the Association’s basic policy on free access to libraries and library materials.

Responsibilities

The goal of the office is to educate librarians and the general public about the nature and importance of intellectual freedom in libraries.

Social Networking

Check us out on TwitterFacebook, MySpace, YouTube, Blip TV.  To learn more about intellectual freedom issues related to social networking, see our online social networks page.

Staff

Barbara M. Jones
Director
312.280.4222; 800.545.2433, ext. 4222
bjones@ala.org

Deborah Caldwell-Stone
Deputy Director
312.280.4224; 800.545.2433, ext. 4224
dstone@ala.org

Angela Maycock
Assistant Director
312.280.4221; 800.545.2433, ext. 4221
amaycock@ala.org

Nanette Perez
Program Officer
312.280.4225; 800.545.2433, ext. 4225
nperez@ala.org

Jonathan Kelley
Program Coordinator
312.280.4226; 800.545.2433, ext. 4226
jokelley@ala.org

Bryan Campbell
Administrative Assistant
312.280.4220; 800.545.2433, ext. 4220
bcampbell@ala.org

In Memoriam

Judith Krug, director of the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom since its founding in 1967, passed away on April 11, 2009. Her achievements in the fight against censorship were unparalleled.  For more on her life and accomplishments, click here. To read how her friends, colleagues, and co-workers have paid tribute to her, click here.  A number of State Chapters have passed resolutions honoring Judith Krug.  To see the list, click here.