WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers Forums Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Amazing New "True Grit" Trailer
Oct 4th, 2010
Tony Gilroy Hired to Direct "Jason Bourne 4"
Oct 4th, 2010
First Photos from "The Thing" Prequel
Oct 4th, 2010
Bruce Willis Says "Die Hard 5" Will Shoot Next Year
Oct 4th, 2010
"Die Hard" Director Sentenced to One Year in Prison
Oct 4th, 2010
New "Thor" Photos Appear Online
Oct 4th, 2010
Video: "The Simpsons" Parodies Pixar's "Up"
Oct 4th, 2010
Video: "Iron Man" Anime Opening Title Sequence
Oct 4th, 2010
Stone Cold Steve Austin to Return for "The Expendables" Sequel
Oct 4th, 2010
First Look: Nicolas Cage in "Trespass" Crime Thriller
Oct 4th, 2010
"The Hangover" Sequel Details Revealed
Oct 4th, 2010
Christian Bale is Now Getting in Shape for "Batman 3"
Oct 4th, 2010
Alex Garland on "28 Months Later," "Logan's Run" and "Halo"
Oct 3rd, 2010
"The Social Network" Tops Box Office With Only $23 Million
Oct 3rd, 2010
Tyler Durden Appears in "The Social Network"
Oct 3rd, 2010
Batman Scene from "Arthur" Remake Revealed
Oct 3rd, 2010
Rosario Dawson Rushing Robert Rodriguez to Make "Sin City 2"
Oct 3rd, 2010
"The Social Network" - What Did You Think?
Oct 3rd, 2010
"Let Me In" - What Did You Think?
Oct 3rd, 2010
JK Rowling May Write More "Harry Potter" Books
Oct 3rd, 2010
Wes Craven Talks "Hills Have Eyes 3"
Oct 3rd, 2010
Matthew Lillard NOT Returning for "Scream 4"
Oct 3rd, 2010
Did Actors Union Burn Down "The Hobbit" Set?
Oct 3rd, 2010
Emma Stone is Mary Jane Watson in "Spider-Man" Reboot
Oct 3rd, 2010
Helen Mirren's Violent "Red" Character Was Inspired by Martha Stewart
Oct 3rd, 2010
Trailer for "Death Race" Prequel
Oct 3rd, 2010
"X-Men: First Class" to Re-Shoot Scene from First "X-Men" Movie
Oct 2nd, 2010
"The Hobbit" to Get Greenlight in Next Few Days
Oct 2nd, 2010
New "Wonder Woman" TV Series Coming
Oct 2nd, 2010
Olivia Wilde is Justin Timberlake's Mother in Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2010
Ron Howard to Direct Brain Scientist's "My Stroke of Insight"
Oct 2nd, 2010
Sorry Kevin Smith, Seann William Scott Joins "Goon" Hockey Movie
Oct 2nd, 2010
Legendary TV Series Creator Stephen J. Cannell Dead at 69
Oct 2nd, 2010
Previous News Stories Previous News Stories

Alex Garland on "28 Months Later," "Logan's Run" and "Halo"

Posted: October 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alex Garland on 28 Months Later, Logans Run and HaloSubmit Comment
I (Alex) had a chance to sit down with Alex Garland (28 Days Later, Sunshine, Never Let Me Go) and ask him about the status of "28 Months Later," "Logan's Run" remake and Microsoft's "Halo" movie, which the company is now once again interested in making.

28 Months Later: "I'll answer that completely honestly. When we made '28 Days Later,' the rights were frozen between a group of people who are no longer talking to each other. And so, the film is never going to happen unless those people start talking to each other again. There is no script as far as I'm aware."

Logan's Run: "I've been talking to a guy called Carl Rinsch (Ridley Scott's protege) and Warner Bros about making it into a film. I have a slightly uneasy feeling that because I'm now the go-to screenwriter for people who have short lives."

Halo: "I wrote a screenplay for that a long, long time ago. I have no idea what's happening. I was contracted to write one draft of the screenplay. That was it. [That was] eight years ago."

A recent Variety article stated that Stuart Beattie (Pirates of the Caribbean), D.B. Weiss, Josh Olson (A History of Violence) and Garland are working with Microsoft on "Halo" story ideas. But when I asked if the studio has contacted him during the last eight years, Garland replied: "No."

Source: WorstPreviews.com



Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 7:49:19 PM

Logan's Run is...?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 8:34:12 PM

"28 Months Later", please don't make this, "28 Days Later" was/is a very good film "28 Weeks Later" was an good sequel right up until the last 5 mins.

"Logans Run" NO REMAKE PLEASE!!!!
Already had one it was called "The Island" and it was utter sh*t.

"Halo" HURRY UP WITH THIS ONE PLEASE!!!!
Charlie9 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 8:51:42 PM

f*ck Halo. f*ck Xbox
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:06:58 PM

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Wake me up when either one of three is in production.

I mean, they green light 'Cop Out' and we're still waiting on this sh*t ?

What the f*ck ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:24:09 PM

28 Months Later: "I'll answer that completely honestly. When we made '28 Days Later,' the rights were frozen between a group of people who are no longer talking to each other. And so, the film is never going to happen unless those people start talking to each other again. There is no script as far as I'm aware."

Stick them in a room with Uwe Boll, Lindsay Lohan and Shannon Wheeler for a month. Lock the doors and leave them to hear the three bitch, whine and moan about how hard celebrity life is, compared to actually doing 9 to 5 jobs for a living.

They'll be happy to talk then. To get out, of course.

But nonetheless, they'll be Chattering motherf*cking Cathies.
dhkenobi writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 9:52:51 PM

His Halo screenplay is GARBAGE. Thrilled that nothing happened with that.
CCBlev writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 10:07:49 PM

i dunno bout all of these.
ian_918 writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:41:09 PM

sad to hear about 28 months.. i liked both the first installments.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 3rd, 2010 at 11:47:09 PM

I enjoyed "28 Days Later" but didn't like the sequel so I'm glad that another movie in this franchise isn't going to get made.
Preditorian writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:34:13 AM

Would it be at all crazy to consider the book version of the Halo story? In my eyes the books were far better then the game, and the tale of how the Spartans became who they are shows a hints of the true bond between soldiers and the hard choices that had to be made, and even the devastating defeat at Reach.

Its amazing to see that the story of Halo is equally about the battles that took place in space as to the ones that were fought on the ground, as on ground the Spartans would be gods among ants, in space... the Humans needed 3 to 1 odd in order to be an even fight.

But all in all I would love to see a CGI scene of the "Keys Loop" :)
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:53:50 AM

@DaveThePhotoGuy The Island is actually a remake of a movie called Parts: The Clonus Horror (not that anybody involved will admit it of course, which is why the makers of the original film sued and actually got a settlement) and I liked it personally.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parts:_The_Clonus_Horror
Eben1277 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 7:01:36 AM

I thought the Island was pretty good, I'm surprised you didn't like it Dave. Ewan McGregor is is good as usual and ScarJo is hot as usual...
VDODSON writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 7:25:08 AM

f*ck Halo, cant stand that dumbass game.
rabid writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 11:12:11 AM

Halo sucks, but Logun's Run could be a good remake. I really don't think the Island was the same plot as Logan's Run.
barley_cat writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 11:54:08 AM

I agree with Eben, The Island wasn't a bad film at all! It worked....
dhkenobi writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 12:31:08 PM

The halo video games are alright, but the actual story from the halo novels are where its at and what the film(s) should be based off of.
acreshakers writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 8:07:52 PM

So pretty much you have no info on ANYTHING!
Thx for nothing! BUM
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 8:40:05 PM

@justsmile- thanx for the heads up, never seen that movie as you could tell haha
just watching "The Island" all I could think of was "Logan's Run", but will try to find it and check it out.
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 9:55:07 PM

@Charlie9 - Dont be pissed because your sh*tty Playstation doesn't have a game as awesome as Halo! Actually, dont be pissed because your playstation sucks d*ck altogether.

(I say playstation, because if it's a wii you have, you might need to check to see if you still have a d*ck.)

Halo is friggin awesome and will make an incredible movie with the right writer(s) & director behind it.
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 4th, 2010 at 9:55:51 PM

Same thing goes for you Rabid

Two More Celebrities Pass Away, Greg Giraldo and Tony Curtis

Edward Norton Wants a Villain Role in "Batman 3"

Why Does Shia LaBeouf Hate Frankie Muniz?

"Star Wars" Films to be Re-Released in 3D Theaters in 2012

Christian Bale is Now Getting in Shape for "Batman 3"

Michael Caine Explains "Inception" Ending

Philip Seymour Hoffman is Venom in "Spider-Man" Reboot?

Sigourney Weaver on "Avatar 2" and "Alien" Prequels

Oliver Stone Says Shia LaBeouf is No Brad Pitt

Tyler Durden Appears in "The Social Network"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved