Corbett & Brogan named Players of the Year

Tipperary's Lar Corbett is Hurler of the Year for 2010
Tipperary's Lar Corbett is Hurler of the Year for 2010

Players from Tipperary, Kilkenny, Waterford and Galway make up the entire 2010 GAA Hurling All Star team.

Six Tipp men make the team, with five from Kilkenny, three from Waterford and one from Galway.

Tipp captain Eoin Kelly received his sixth award, equalling the existing Tipperary All Star record held by Nicky English, while goalkeeper Brendan Cummins received his fifth award.

Also for the Premier county, full-back Paul Curran and midfielder Brendan Maher were first time recipients with Lar Corbett and Noel McGrath picking up their second awards.

There was some consolation for Kilkenny fans, not least as Tommy Walsh collected a record equalling eighth All Star award in-a-row - his fellow countyman Henry Shefflin is the only other All Star to receive eight awards in succession. Walsh is joined on the team by fellow county-men Jackie Tyrrell, JJ Delaney, Michael Fennelly and Richie Power.

Waterford were rewarded for their strong season, which saw them claim provincial honours before being defeated by eventual champions Tipperary in the All-Ireland semi-final, as corner-back Noel Connors, centre-back Michael 'Brick' Walsh and corner-forward John Mullane were all selected.

Wing forward Damien Hayes is the sole representative from Galway.

Also announced at the awards ceremony at Citywest, Tallaght was Tipperary's Lar Corbett as Hurler of the Year for 2010, while the Footballer of the Year award went to Dublin's Bernard Brogan.

The Young Hurler of the Year is Tipperary's Brendan Maher with Cork's Aidan Walsh taking the football equivalent.

2010 GAA Hurling All Stars

Brendan Cummins (Tipperary)

Full backs:
Noel Connors (Waterford), Paul Curran (Tipperary), Jackie Tyrell (Kilkenny)

Half backs:
Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny), Michael 'Brick' Walsh (Waterford), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny)

Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny)

Half forwards:
Damien Hayes (Galway), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Lar Corbett (Tipperary)

Full forwards:
John Mullane (Waterford), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Eoin Kelly (Tipperary),

Interview: Anthony Tohill

Ireland International Rules manager Anthony Tohill speaks to Brian Carthy about the squad he has selected for the upcoming test series with Australia.

Interview: Lar Corbett

RTÉ's Brian Carthy speaks to 2010 Hurler of the Year, Tipperary's Lar Corbett.

2010 GAA All-Star Awards

The 2010 GAA All-Stars, featuring the announcement of the All-Star hurling team, the footballer and hurler of the year plus the All-Star football team presentation.

Play Play Play