2011 Ford C. Frick Award Ballot Finalized

Winner to be Announced at Baseball’s Winter Meetings in December

October 05, 2010
The winner of the 2011 Ford C. Frick Award will be honored during the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in July. (Milo Stewart Jr./National Baseball Hall of Fame)

Bios of the 10 finalists

COOPERSTOWN, NY – Ten of baseball's most beloved and honored broadcasters were named today as the finalists for the 2011 Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The 10 finalists for the 2011 Frick Award are: Rene Cardenas, Tom Cheek, Dizzy Dean, Jacques Doucet, Bill King, Ned Martin, Tim McCarver, Graham McNamee, Eric Nadel and Dave Van Horne. The winner of the 2011 Frick Award will be announced on December 7 at the Baseball Winter Meetings in Orlando, Fla., and honored during Hall of Fame Weekend, July 22-25, 2011, in Cooperstown.

The 10 finalists for the 2011 Frick Award include the three fan selections produced from online balloting at the Hall of Fame's Facebook site – www.facebook.com/baseballhall – throughout September. A total of 21,603 votes were cast. For the second consecutive year, Cheek paced all broadcasters in fan voting with 11,661 votes. King was second in the fan balloting with 4,758 votes and Doucet followed with 2,714 votes. McCarver, Nadel and Van Horne are the only active broadcasters on the ballot. Cardenas and Doucet are the only other living candidates.

Final voting for the 2011 Frick Award will be conducted by a 20-member electorate, comprised of the 15 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists, including past Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, 2010 Frick Award winner Jon Miller, Dave Niehaus, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of NY Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

The 10 finalists for the 2011 Frick Award: Cardenas helped create the first Spanish-language MLB broadcast in 1958 with the Dodgers, working a total of 38 years for the Dodgers, Astros and Rangers; Cheek broadcast 31 major league seasons covering the Montreal Expos (1974-'76) and Toronto Blue Jays (1977-2004), the last 28 seasons as the Jays' radio play-by-play man with 4,603 straight games broadcast, before his death during the 2005 season; Dean broadcast 24 years in St. Louis and nationally on CBS' Game of the Week from 1955-65 following a Hall of Fame pitching career; Doucet spent his entire 34 year career broadcasting for the Expos as the play-by-play radio voice on their French network (1969-2004); King worked for 25 seasons (1981-2005) as the A's lead play-by-play voice on radio; Martin worked as the Red Sox's radio and television voice from 1961-92, covering the 1975 World Series for NBC-TV; McCarver has broadcast for 30 seasons, the last 15 for Fox-TV on their national broadcast – extending a string of 21 seasons working the postseason; McNamee was a national pioneer in sports broadcasting, calling games for 13 seasons for Westinghouse and NBC, also calling 12 World Series; Nadel has spent the last 32 seasons with the Rangers – the longest tenure of any announcer in franchise history – including the last 16 as the club's lead play-by-play voice; Van Horne has spent 43 years in broadcasting for the Montreal Expos (1968-2000) and Florida Marlins (2001-present), the last 10 in Florida, following 33 seasons in Montreal as the English voice.

Additional biographical information on the 10 finalists can be found at www.baseballhall.org. Voters are asked to base their selections on the following criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans.

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. In 2010, more than 200 broadcasters were eligible for consideration for the award, with bios of each candidate appearing at the Hall of Fame's Web site.

The annual award is named in memory of Hall of Famer Ford C. Frick, renowned sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League president and Baseball commissioner. Past recipients of the Ford C. Frick Award:


1978   Mel Allen             1989   Harry Caray           2001   Felo Ramirez
           Red Barber         1990   By Saam                2002   Harry Kalas
1979   Bob Elson           1991   Joe Garagiola        2003   Bob Uecker
1980   Russ Hodges      1992   Milo Hamilton         2004   Lon Simmons
1981   Ernie Harwell      1993   Chuck Thompson   2005   Jerry Coleman
1982   Vin Scully            1994   Bob Murphy           2006   Gene Elston
1983   Jack Brickhouse  1995   Bob Wolff               2007   Denny Matthews
1984   Curt Gowdy        1996   Herb Carneal         2008   Dave Niehaus
1985   Buck Canel         1997   Jimmy Dudley         2009   Tony Kubek
1986   Bob Prince          1998   Jaime Jarrin            2010   Jon Miller
1987   Jack Buck            1999   Arch McDonald
1988   Lindsey Nelson   2000   Marty Brennaman

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is an independent not-for-profit educational institution, dedicated to fostering an appreciation of the historical development of baseball and its impact on our culture by collecting, preserving, exhibiting and interpreting its collections for a global audience as well as honoring those who have made outstanding contributions to our National Pastime.

The Museum's collections contain more than 38,000 three-dimensional artifacts representing all facets of the game, from its inception in the mid-19th century to present. Three-dimensional artifacts include bats, baseballs, uniforms, player equipment, ballpark artifacts, awards, artwork, textiles, tickets, collectibles and assorted memorabilia. In addition, the Institution's archives contain in excess of 135,000 Baseball cards and three million Library items, including photographs, books, magazines, newspaper clippings, films, video and audio tapes.

Located on Main Street in the heart of picturesque Cooperstown, New York, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is one of the country's major tourist destinations and is surely the best-known sports shrine in the world. Opening its doors for the first time on June 12, 1939, the Hall of Fame has stood as the definitive repository of the game's treasures and as a symbol of the most profound individual honor bestowed on an athlete. It is every fan's "Field of Dreams," with its stories, legends and magic to be passed on from generation to generation.

Open seven days a week the year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day, the Hall of Fame is open from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. until Memorial Day Weekend. Summer hours extend until Labor Day, from 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. daily. Ticket prices are $16.50 for adults (13 and over), $11 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $6 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children six years of age or younger, active and retired card-carrying military personnel. For more information, visit our Web site at www.baseballhall.org or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.