The Treasury

You are here: Home > State Sector > Crown Entities


Crown Entities

Page updated 20 May 2010

Overview of information relating to Crown entities, including the Crown Entities Act 2004 and relevant Treasury guidance material.

What is a Crown Entity?

Crown entities are bodies established by law in which the Government has a controlling interest - for example, by owning a majority of the voting shares or through having the power to appoint and replace a majority of the governing members - but which are legally separate from the Crown.

Section 7 of the Crown Entities Act 2004 outlines the five categories of Crown entity:

  • Statutory entities - bodies corporate established through legislation;
  • Crown entity companies - often previously known as Crown-owned companies;
  • Crown entity subsidiaries - companies that are controlled by Crown entities;
  • School boards of trustees - as constituted under the Education Act 1989; and
  • Tertiary education institutes - polytechnics, universities and wananga.

Crown Entities Act 2004

The Crown Entities Act 2004 came into force on 25 January 2005. Part 4 of this legislation (concerning reporting and financial obligations) is administered by the Treasury, and the remainder by the State Services Commission.

The Crown Entities Act reformed the law relating to Crown entities and provided a consistent framework for the establishment, governance and operation of Crown entities. It also clarified accountability relationships between Crown entities, their board members, their responsible Ministers and the House of Representatives.

Guidance and Instructions

The guidance for Crown entities published by the Treasury can be divided into the following categories:

Information about Crown Entities

The Treasury publishes the following information that also relates to Crown entities:

Page top