The Price of Freedom is Eternal Vigilance - John F. Kennedy
You are here The Anguillian Sports

2009 - 2010 CCC Sponsored Senior Male Football League Closes With Exciting Final Match

Sunday 25th April 2010 saw the conclusion of the 2009-2010 Caribbean Cable Communications (CCC) sponsored Anguilla Football Association (AFA) Senior Male League in an exciting encounter between Roaring Lions FC & Attackers FC. Roaring Lions FC trounced Attackers FC in the final match of the Knock-Out competition to capture the Knock-Out Cup.

Roaring Lions Football Club
Roaring Lions Football Club
Attackers FC failed on several occasions to put the goal in the back of the net whereas Roaring Lions and their leading striker Lawford Brown made no mistake in scoring their goals. The end result was Roaring Lions 3 goals to Attackers FC 1 goal. The large crowd that packed into the new football home at the Webster Park Annex stadium displayed their enjoyment of the game as they cheered for their favourite team.

Clearly, Roaring Lions FC came into the season with a purpose and by all accounts it appears that they achieved their goals this season by capturing both the League and Knockout Championship titles dethroning Attackers FC from both cups. At the closing ceremony the various speakers congratulated all the teams that participated in the 2009-2010 CCC sponsored AFA Senior Male Football League.

At the end of the League, the final standings were as follows:-
2009-2010 CCC sponsored AFA Senior Male League
Champion - Roaring Lions FC
2nd Place - Kicks United FC
3rd Place - Attackers FC

2009-2010 CCC sponsored AFA Senior Male League Knock-Out
Champion - Roaring Lions FC

2009-2010 CCC sponsored AFA Senior Male League Individual Awards
Best Striker - Lawford Brown - Roaring Lions FC
Best Midfielder - Girdon Connor - Roaring lions FC
Best Defender - Colin Johnson - Roaring Lions FC
Best Goal Keeper - Olivier Grillo - Spartan FC
Most Valuable Player - Girdon Connor -
Roaring Lions FC
Most Disciplined Player - Germaine Hughes Salsa Ballers FC
Most Improved Team - Salsa Ballers FC

The officials who officiated the games during the League also received appreciation awards and the seven participating teams namely Dockís United FC, FC Strikers, Salsa Ballers FC, Spartan FC, Attackers FC, Kicks United FC and Roaring Lions FC all received participation trophies. MVP Girdon Connor received a trophy and US$500.00, while the League winners received US$2000.00 and a trophy, 2nd Place received US$1500.00 and a trophy, while 3rd Place received US$1000.00 and a trophy. The Knock-Out Champions received US$1,000.00.

The Anguilla Football Association, Players, and Officials would like to say a special thank you to the spectators and special word of thanks to Caribbean Cable Communications for sponsoring the Senior Male Football League.
- Press Release

| Printer-friendly page | Send this article to a friend |
World News
Powered by eZ publish