National Academy of Sciences
Rising temperatures and CO2 decrease tree growth (PNAS, May 13, 2003) Orb, human retinal scan, drosophila wings, and tree branches (© Patricia Olynyk) High-throughput protein phase behavior studies (PNAS, Oct. 5, 2004) Gravity sensing by roots (PNAS, Mar. 4, 2003)

   Member Login 

 Print Page
Bookmark and Share

Home Page Home
President's Page | Leadership | NAS Building About the NAS
Members Members
Nomination and Election Nomination and Election
Awards Awards
Awards Alphabetical Listing
Awards By Field
Awards How to Nominate
Publications Publications
Giving to the NAS Giving to the NAS
NRC/IOM Studies NRC/IOM Studies
Koshland Science Museum Koshland Science Museum
Evolution Resources Evolution Resources
Sackler Colloquia Sackler Colloquia
Kavli Frontiers Kavli Frontiers of Science
Keck Futures Initiative Keck Futures Initiative
Cultural Programs of the National Academy of Sciences Cultural Programs
Distinctive Voices Distinctive Voices
The Science and Entertainment Exchange The Science and Entertainment Exchange
Committee on Human Rights Committee on Human Rights


NAS Award in Mathematics

Established by the American Mathematical Society in Commemoration of its Centennial

Awarded for excellence of research in the mathematical sciences published within the past ten years.


Clifford H. Taubes (2008)
For groundbreaking work relating to Seiberg-Witten and Gromov-Witten invariants of symplectic 4-manifolds, and his proof of Weinstein conjecture for all contact 3-manifolds.

Dan-Virgil Voiculescu (2004)
For the theory of free probability, in particular, using random matrices and a new concept of entropy to solve several hitherto intractable problems in von Neumann algebras.

Ingrid Daubechies (2000)
For fundamental discoveries on wavelets and wavelet expansions and for her role in making wavelet methods a practical basic tool of applied mathematics.

Andrew J. Wiles (1996)
For his proof of Fermat's Last Theorem by discovering a beautiful strategy to establish a major portion of the Shimura-Taniyama conjecture, and for his courage and technical power in bringing his idea to completion.

Robert MacPherson (1992)
For his role in the introduction and application of radically new approaches to the topology of singular spaces, including characteristics classes, intersection homology, perverse sheaves, and stratified Morse theory.

Robert P. Langlands (1988)
For his extraordinary vision, which has brought the theory of group representations into a revolutionary new relationship with the theory of automorphic forms and number theory.


Related Links:
Press Releases 
Nomination Instructions
Sigma Xi Grants-in-Aid 
Keck Communications Awards







National Academy of Sciences
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
Contact Us | Site Map

Copyright © 2010. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.