Wed 05/01/11

2007 World Soccer Awards

Kaka wins World Player of the Year award

Ricardo Izecson Dos Santos Leite, better known as Kaka, is World Soccer’s World Player of the Year for 2007. The Milan and Brazil star was the clear winner in our 26th annual poll, with Barcelona’s Lionel Messi second and Cristiano Ronaldo of Manchester United third.

The Brazilian garnered 52.8 per cent of your votes, making him only the second player in the history of the award, after Michel Platini in 1984, to receive more than half the votes cast.


Kaka’s victory was also confirmation of the pre-eminent status of the UEFA Champions League in the world game. The Brazilian declined to play in the year’s major international tournament, the Copa America, yet his outstanding contribution to Milan as they became European champions for the seventh time made him the popular choice.


The poll also confirmed that Spain, Italy and England have the world’s top leagues – nine of the top 10 are with clubs in one of them, and the poll was conducted when new Boca Juniors signing Juan Riquelme was at Villarreal.


Sir Alex Ferguson won the manager award for a record third time after steering Manchester United to the English championship title for the first time in four years. Ferguson just pipped the now Tottenham manager Juande Ramos, who completed a five-trophy haul in 15 months with Sevilla when leading them to a second successive UEFA Cup triumph, the Spanish Cup and the Spanish Super Cup. Milan’s Carlo Ancelotti was third.


Iraq’s extraordinary journey from war-torn also-rans to continental champions with victory at the Asian Cup earned them the team award, the first time it has gone to an Asian side. Milan were second and Sevilla third.


Messi picked up the young player award for the second year running, with Arsenal and Spain midfielder Cesc Fabregas the runner-up and Cristiano Ronaldo third.


Votes were cast from 48 countries, underlining the diversity of World Soccer’s readership.




1 Kaka (Milan & Brazil) 52.8
2 Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina) 17.6
3 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United & Portugal) 16.0
4 Didier Drogba (Chelsea & Ivory Coast) 4.4
5 Juan Roman Riquelme (Boca Juniors/Villarreal & Argentina) 1.2
6 Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal & Spain) 0.8
7 Francesco Totti (Roma) 0.7
8 Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Internazionale & Sweden) 0.6
9 Ruud Van Nistelrooy (Real Madrid & Holland) 0.5
10 Ronaldinho (Barcelona & Brazil) 0.4
Others 5.0


1 Alex Ferguson (Manchester United) 26.4
2 Juande Ramos (Sevilla/Tottenham) 25.6
3 Carlo Ancelotti (Milan) 14.8
4 Arsene Wenger (Arsenal) 8.4
5 Roberto Mancini (Internazionale) 6.5
6 Jose Mourinho (Chelsea) 5.2
7 Jorvan Vieira (Iraq) 4.2
8 Alex McLeish (Scotland) 3.1
9 Fabio Capello (Real Madrid) 1.2
10 Rafa Benitez (Liverpool) 0.5
Others 4.1


1 Iraq 22.2
2 Milan 21.5
3 Sevilla 16.6
4 Manchester United 10.5
5 Boca Juniors 9.1
6 Brazil 6.8
7 Argentina 5.2
8 Real Madrid 1.1
9 Scotland 1.0
10 Barcelona 0.8
Others 5.2


1 Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina) 33.6
2 Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal & Spain) 22.8
3 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United & Portugal) 14.8
4 Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid & Argentina) 10.4
5 Giovani dos Santos (Barcelona & Mexico) 6.3
6 Alexandre Pato (Internacional/Milan & Brazil) 4.2
7 Wayne Rooney (Manchester United & England) 2.1
8 Alan Hutton (Rangers & Scotland) 1.2
9 Robinho (Real Madrid & Brazil) 0.6
10 Anderson (Porto/Manchester United & Brazil) 0.4
Others 3.6


Last year's results

Previous winners




Sign up:

Current Issue


Football 2011

Soccer Betting

Online Betting

planet soccer ad

The soccer store

Ultimate Europe

Poll: Which league is the strongest?