TELUS CFL Mobile - Download Now


Player Awards

Solomon Elimimian – LB – B.C. Lions

B.C.Lions first-year linebacker Solomon Elimimian was named the league’s top rookie. Elimimian led his team in tackles with 77, was second in quarterback sacks with five and also recorded three tackles for a loss. He is the fourth Lions player in the last five years to win the award.

The hard-hitting Leos Elimimian received 36 first place votes to beat out Hamilton return specialist Marcus Thigpen for the honour.

Elimimian was injured early in the year and played sparingly during the first weeks of the season but came on strong towards the end of August. He registered a season's best 10 tackles in Week 13 to help the Lions beat the Stampeders 29-10 in Calgary.

After winning the award Elimimian offered much thanks to Lions head coach and GM Wally Buono.

"I was hurt during training camp and missed two weeks and a pre-season game," he said. "A lot of guys get cut just for getting hurt.

"But he (Buono) saw something in me and I'm thankful he stuck with me. I didn't want to come to Canada because my dream was always to play in the NFL but God had a different plan for me and I'm glad he did because I had a great season."

Previous CFL Most Outstanding Rookies
2010 -- Solomon Elimimian, BC
2009 -- Martell Mallett, BC
2008 -- Weston Dressler, Saskatchewan
2007 -- Cam Wake, B.C.
2006 -- Aaron Hunt, B.C.
2005 -- Gavin Walls, Winnipeg
2004 -- Nikolas Lewis, Calgary
2003 -- Frank Cutolo, B.C.
2002 -- Jason Clermont, B.C.
2001 -- Barrin Simpson, B.C.
2000 -- Albert Johnson III, Winnipeg
1999 -- Paul Lacoste, B.C.
1998 -- Steve Muhammad, B.C.
1997 -- Derrell Mitchell, Toronto
1996 -- Kelvin Anderson, Calgary
1995 -- Shalon Baker, Edmonton
1994 -- Matt Goodwin, Baltimore
1993 -- Michael O’Shea, Hamilton
1992 -- Michael Richardson, Winnipeg
1991 -- Jon Volpe, B.C.
1990 -- Reggie Barnes, Ottawa
1989 -- Stephen Jordan, Hamilton
1988 -- Orville Lee, Ottawa
1987 -- Gill Fenerty, Toronto
1986 -- Harold Hallman, Calgary
1985 -- Michael Gray, B.C.
1984 -- Dwaine Wilson, Montreal
1983 -- Johnny Shepherd, Hamilton
1982 -- Chris Isaac, Ottawa
1981 -- Vince Goldsmith, Saskatchewan
1980 -- William Miller, Winnipeg
1979 -- Brian Kelly, Edmonton
1978 -- Joe Poplawski, Winnipeg
1977 -- Leon Bright, B.C.
1976 -- John Sciarra, B.C.
1975 -- Tom Clements, Ottawa
1974 -- Sam Cvijanovich, Toronto
1973 -- Johnny Rodgers, Montreal
1972 -- Chuck Ealey, Hamilton

Prospect Central
Rank Name PosSchool
1 Scott Mitchell
OL Rice
2 Anthony Parker
WR Calgary
Henoc Muamba
Philip Blake
OL Baylor
Tyler Holmes OL Tulsa
Vaughn Martin
DL Western Ontario
7 Nathan Coehoorn
WR Calgary
Hugh O'Neill
P/K Alberta
9 Marco Ianuzzi
WR Harvard
10 Moe Petrus
OL Conneticut

Fan Poll

Who is the best receiver on the Roughriders?