Oscar Legacy
Share |

The 22nd Academy Awards (1950) Nominees and Winners

Held at the RKO Pantages Theatre on Thursday, March 23, 1950,
honoring movies released in 1949.

Pantages Theater

22nd Academy Awards at the RKO Pantages Theatre.


  • Broderick Crawford in "All the King's Men"
  • Kirk Douglas in "Champion"
  • Gregory Peck in "Twelve O'Clock High"
  • Richard Todd in "The Hasty Heart"
  • John Wayne in "Sands of Iwo Jima"

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • John Ireland in "All the King's Men"
  • Dean Jagger in "Twelve O'Clock High"
  • Arthur Kennedy in "Champion"
  • Ralph Richardson in "The Heiress"
  • James Whitmore in "Battleground"


  • Jeanne Crain in "Pinky"
  • Olivia de Havilland in "The Heiress"
  • Susan Hayward in "My Foolish Heart"
  • Deborah Kerr in "Edward, My Son"
  • Loretta Young in "Come to the Stable"

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Ethel Barrymore in "Pinky"
  • Celeste Holm in "Come to the Stable"
  • Elsa Lanchester in "Come to the Stable"
  • Mercedes McCambridge in "All the King's Men"
  • Ethel Waters in "Pinky"

Art Direction (Black-and-White)

  • "Come to the Stable" Art Direction: Lyle Wheeler, Joseph C. Wright; Set Decoration: Thomas Little, Paul S. Fox
  • "The Heiress" Art Direction: Harry Horner, John Meehan; Set Decoration: Emile Kuri
  • "Madame Bovary" Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Jack Martin Smith; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Richard A. Pefferle

Art Direction (Color)

  • "The Adventures of Don Juan" Art Direction: Edward Carrere; Set Decoration: Lyle Reifsnider
  • "Little Women" Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Paul Groesse; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Jack D. Moore
  • "Saraband" Art Direction: Jim Morahan, William Kellner, Michael Relph

Cinematography (Black-and-White)

  • "Battleground" Paul C. Vogel
  • "Champion" Frank Planer
  • "Come to the Stable" Joseph LaShelle
  • "The Heiress" Leo Tover
  • "Prince of Foxes" Leon Shamroy

Cinematography (Color)

  • "The Barkleys of Broadway" Harry Stradling
  • "Jolson Sings Again" William Snyder
  • "Little Women" Robert Planck, Charles Schoenbaum
  • "Sand" Charles G. Clarke
  • "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon" Winton Hoch

Costume Design (Black-and-White)

  • "The Heiress" Edith Head, Gile Steele
  • "Prince of Foxes" Vittorio Nino Novarese

Costume Design (Color)

  • "The Adventures of Don Juan" Leah Rhodes, Travilla, Marjorie Best
  • "Mother Is a Freshman" Kay Nelson


  • "All the King's Men" Robert Rossen
  • "Battleground" William A. Wellman
  • "The Fallen Idol" Carol Reed
  • "The Heiress" William Wyler
  • "A Letter to Three Wives" Joseph L. Mankiewicz

Documentary (Feature)

  • "Daybreak in Udi" Crown Film Unit
  • "Kenji Comes Home" Paul F. Heard, Producer

Documentary (Short Subject)

  • "A Chance to Live" Richard de Rochemont, Producer
  • "1848" French Cinema General Cooperative
  • "The Rising Tide" St. Francis-Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia
  • "So Much for So Little" Edward Selzer, Producer

Film Editing

  • "All the King's Men" Robert Parrish, Al Clark
  • "Battleground" John Dunning
  • "Champion" Harry Gerstad
  • "Sands of Iwo Jima" Richard L. Van Enger
  • "The Window" Frederic Knudtson

Music (Music Score of a Dramatic or Comedy Picture)

  • "Beyond the Forest" Max Steiner
  • "Champion" Dimitri Tiomkin
  • "The Heiress" Aaron Copland

Music (Scoring of a Musical Picture)

  • "Jolson Sings Again" Morris Stoloff, George Duning
  • "Look for the Silver Lining" Ray Heindorf
  • "On the Town" Roger Edens, Lennie Hayton

Music (Song)

  • "Baby, It's Cold Outside" from "Neptune's Daughter" Music and Lyrics by Frank Loesser
  • "It's a Great Feeling" from "It's a Great Feeling" Music by Jule Styne; Lyrics by Sammy Cahn
  • "Lavender Blue" from "So Dear to My Heart" Music by Eliot Daniel; Lyrics by Larry Morey
  • "My Foolish Heart" from "My Foolish Heart" Music by Victor Young; Lyrics by Ned Washington
  • "Through a Long and Sleepless Night" from "Come to the Stable" Music by Alfred Newman; Lyrics by Mack Gordon

Best Motion Picture

  • "All the King's Men" Robert Rossen Productions
  • "Battleground" Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
  • "The Heiress" Paramount
  • "A Letter to Three Wives" 20th Century-Fox
  • "Twelve O'Clock High" 20th Century-Fox

Short Subject (Cartoon)

  • "For Scent-Imental Reasons" Edward Selzer, Producer
  • "Hatch Up Your Troubles" Fred Quimby, Producer
  • "The Magic Fluke" Stephen Bosustow, Producer
  • "Toy Tinkers" Walt Disney, Producer

Short Subject (One-reel)

  • "Aquatic House-Party" Jack Eaton, Producer
  • "Roller Derby Girl" Justin Herman, Producer
  • "So You Think You're Not Guilty" Gordon Hollingshead, Producer
  • "Spills and Chills" Walton C. Ament, Producer
  • "Water Trix" Pete Smith, Producer

Short Subject (Two-reel)

  • "The Boy and the Eagle" William Lasky, Producer
  • "Chase of Death" Irving Allen, Producer
  • "The Grass Is Always Greener" Gordon Hollingshead, Producer
  • "Snow Carnival" Gordon Hollingshead, Producer
  • "Van Gogh" Gaston Diehl and Robert Haessens, Producers

Sound Recording

  • "Once More, My Darling" Universal-International Studio Sound Department, Leslie I. Carey, Sound Director
  • "Sands of Iwo Jima" Republic Studio Sound Department, Daniel J. Bloomberg, Sound Director
  • "Twelve O'Clock High" 20th Century-Fox Studio Sound Department, Thomas T. Moulton, Sound Director

Special Effects

  • "Mighty Joe Young" ARKO Productions
  • "Tulsa" Walter Wanger Pictures

Writing (Motion Picture Story)

  • "Come to the Stable" Clare Boothe Luce
  • "It Happens Every Spring" Shirley W. Smith, Valentine Davies
  • "Sands of Iwo Jima" Harry Brown
  • "The Stratton Story" Douglas Morrow
  • "White Heat" Virginia Kellogg

Writing (Screenplay)

  • "All the King's Men" Robert Rossen
  • "The Bicycle Thief" Cesare Zavattini
  • "Champion" Carl Foreman
  • "The Fallen Idol" Graham Greene
  • "A Letter to Three Wives" Joseph L. Mankiewicz

Writing (Story and Screenplay)

  • "Battleground" Robert Pirosh
  • "Jolson Sings Again" Sidney Buchman
  • "Paisan" Alfred Hayes, Federico Fellini, Sergio Amidei, Marcello Pagliero, Roberto Rossellini
  • "Passport to Pimlico" T. E. B. Clarke
  • "The Quiet One" Helen Levitt, Janice Loeb, Sidney Meyers

  • Star indicates a win.