Alastair MoockNewsBioTourStorePressContactPasturesWorkshopsKids' Music

A Cow Says Moock
A Cow
Fortune Street
Fortune Street
Let it Go
Let it Go
A Life I Never Had
A Life
Bad Moock Rising
Walking Sounds
Walking Sounds

4 CDs
Multi-CD Deal

Music Player

You can listen to samples from all of Moock's CDs and download digital albums here. For album info and physical CD orders, please scroll down.

(If the player doesn't show up, click here).

A Cow Says Moock Self-Release 2010

Buy it here
A Cow Says Moo
  1. A Cow Says Moo
  2. Belly Buttons
  3. Fishin' Blues
  4. Twins are Twice as Fun
  5. Two Mommies
  6. Ship in the Sky
  7. Rock Island Line
  8. Chicken
  9. Spaghetti in My Shoe
  10. Two Little Babies (Dance Around)
  11. Yllabul
The new family album now available!

2010 Parents' Choice Award Winner
Boston Children's Music Favorite Albums of 2009
2009 Iguana Music Fund Grant Winner

Get lyrics, read reviews, and much more at the new kids' music website.
Fortune Street
  1. Fortune Street
  2. Yin Yang Blues
  3. Woody's Lament
  4. Swing That Axe
  5. God Saw Fit to Make Tears
  6. Cloudsplitter
  7. Roll On (Song for Anne Marie)
  8. Own Way to Heaven
  9. Delia
  10. Fishing Tales
Spring 2007 marked the release of Moock's fifth album and second on CoraZong Records. Comprising nine original tunes and one traditional cover (Delia), Fortune Street is Moock's most intimate and mature to date. Two of the tracks were recorded solo; the other eight feature the stripped down roots ensemble of David Goodrich, Lou Ulrich, and Michael Piehl (all former members of the seminal Boston rock band Groovasaurus), joined by guests Kris Delmhorst, Michael Dinallo (of The Mercy Brothers), and Sean Staples (of The Resophonics).

Read the full press release here.

Produced by David Goodrich
Let It Go CoraZong Records 2005

Reviews  |  Lyrics

Let It Go
  1. My Famous Leaving Song
  2. Standing at Five Corners
  3. Everybody's Wondering
  4. Unwanted Guest
  5. Red Ribbon Waltz
  6. Death Don't Have No Mercy
  7. Love Me True
  8. Lovely Day
  9. Let it Go
  10. When the Moon Comes Out

  11. Bonus Tracks:
  12. I Got a Friend
  13. Home is Where the Heart Is
  14. 1913 Massacre
With the great Mercy Brothers band backing him up, Moock's first release on CoraZong Records is a blend of neo-traditionalist Americana and stripped-down roots rock, more raw and electric than his previous work. But the album also contains a number of serenely contemplative moments and some of Moock's finest writing to date. The CoraZong version, a re-release of the original 2004 version, adds three additional tracks, including a stunning solo rendition of Woody Guthrie's 1913 Massacre. The album features charted for fourteen consecutive weeks in the Roots Music Report Folk Chart's Top 10 and cracked the Americana Music Chart's Top 40 in February, 2006. Worcester Magazine calls it “one of the best roots music records to come out of New England in recent memory” and Daniel Gewertz of The Boston Herald included it in his Top 10 list for the year, saying “Moock has become simply one of the top songwriters in the region.”

Produced by Michael Dinallo
A Life I Never Had Self-Release 2002

Reviews  |  Lyrics

A Life I Never Had
  1. Somewhere Elseward Blown
  2. The Bottom of a River
  3. My Blue Eyed Jane
  4. Never Left the Road Behind
  5. Smoke and Flowers
  6. Pastures of Plenty
  7. Paradise
  8. The Word I Said
  9. Put Your Foot in Your Mouth
  10. The Best Thing I'll Ever Know
  11. John Lee
  12. Nothing in This World
  13. A Life I Never Had
The Boston Globe called this 2003 release “an aural feast, richly melodic, set to a propulsive groove, brimming with eloquent riffs and evocative moments.” The album features a number of Boston's premier studio musicians, including Kevin Barry, Duke Levine, Lorne Entress, and members of The Resophonics, along with special guests Ellis Paul, Mark Erelli, Tracy Grammer, and the late great Dave Carter (joining Moock on a cover of John Prine's Paradise in what turned out to be one of Dave's last recordings).

Produced by Lorne Entress
Bad Moock Rising Self-Release 1999

Reviews  |  Lyrics

Bad Moock Rising
  1. Woman Like the Wind
  2. Let Me Die in My Footsteps
  3. Here's a Latte and My Middle Finger
  4. You're Good (For a Man Like Me)
  5. Economist John
  6. Take Me When You Go
  7. January
  8. Pretty Boy Floyd
The second of two albums recorded by Dave Rizzuti at Strong Recording in Arlington, MA, Bad Moock Rising solidified Moock's reputation on the Boston scene as a sharp writer and accomplished interpreter of roots music. Dirty Linen called Moock, “an anachronism in the best sense... a young man with the wizened sound of someone much older” and The CMJ New Music Report included the album in its monthly “Must Hear” list. The closing track, an eight-minute live version of Woody Guthrie's Pretty Boy Floyd recorded at Harvard Square's historic Club Passim, shows Moock's natural talent for storytelling and relating to audiences.
Walking Sounds Self-Release 1997

Reviews  |  Lyrics

Available only for
download (above)
Walking Sounds
  1. Me and My Friend
  2. What if Love Came Too Soon
  3. Dance in the Night
  4. Don't Let Her Strength Make Me Weak
  5. Give Me Love
  6. I've Seen Your Mother Naked in the Tub
  7. Walking To The End of The World
  8. When Rain Turns Into Snow
Moock's 1997 debut album earned impressively strong praise from Boston's premier newspaper, The Boston Globe: “Though only in his mid-twenties, local singer/songwriter Alastair Moock sings with a voice and sensibility far beyond his years... He gruffs and growls through stories of love lost and found, wanted and unwanted, and of the trials and travels of which life's tuneful and at times tragic tapestry is made. Art imitating life, Moock stands head and shoulders above the bevy of Boston-based young musicians, and this album should serve him well as he walks farther down the long and winding road of recognition.” So it did...

4 CDs

4-CD Deal

Buy any 3 Moock albums and get 1 free!

List your 4 albums in the special instructions area of the checkout page

Got Moock? Bumper Stickers

Got Moock? Bumper Stickers

3 Bumper Stickers and 3 Bad Moock Rising Stickers for $2.50 (including shipping)

Other Got Moock? Junk

Quality swag at


David Goodrich - guitarist extraordinaire, former member of Groovasaurus, producer of Fortune Street
The Mercy Brothers - killer blues band, backed Moock up on Let it Go
Lorne Entress - fabulous journeyman drummer and producer of A Life I Never Had
Kris Delmhorst - gifted songwriter, ethereal vocalist, guest on Fortune Street and Let it Go
Mark Erelli - multi-talented songwriter and instrumentalist, guest on Let it Go and A Life I Never Had
Ellis Paul - another talented songwriter friend, guest on A Life I Never Had
The Resophonics - great roots-grass band; members have contributed to various Moock albums and collectively to Pastures of Plenty
Dave Carter and Tracy Grammer - folk legends, guests on A Life I Never Had
Kevin Roper - keyboard wizard and songwriter; also Moock's brother-in-law
Cloudsplitter - The compelling novel by Russell Banks which inspired the song of the same name on Fortune Street
WUMB-FM - Boston's full-time folk radio station (streaming online)
Club Passim - Boston's premier folk club
Fishman Electronics - proud to use Fishman electronics

© 2010 Alastair Moock. All rights reserved.