The Constitution Review Group (CRG)

The Constitution Review Group was established by the government, with Dr TK Whitaker as chairman, in April 1995:

to review the Constitution, and in the light of this review, to establish those areas where constitutional change may be desirable or necessary, with a view to assisting the All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution, to be established by the Oireachtas, in its work.

The CRG had fifteen members selected from different backgrounds — administration, economics, education, law, political science and sociology — with lawyers being predominant:

Dr T K Whitaker, chairman
David Byrne SC
Dr Alpha Connelly
Mary Finlay SC
Dermot Gleeson SC
James Hamilton BL
Mahon Hayes
Gerard Hogan FTCD, BL
Professor Áine Hyland
Dr Finola Kennedy
Professor Michael Laver FTCD
Dr Kathleen Lynch
Diarmaid McGuinness BL
Dr Dermot Nally
Dr Blathna Ruane BL

The Report of the Constitution Review Group was published in July 1996, comprising within its 700 pages the most thorough analysis of the Constitution from the legal, political science, administrative, social and economic perspectives ever made.