Wordnets in the world

The Global WordNet Organization is pleased to post information about wordnets on its website and welcomes submissions reporting on relevant work. Strictly commercial efforts will not be posted. Open source efforts are strongly encouraged. We only post links to resources that follow the wordnet design, which includes
  • links to WordNet (Princeton or others that are linked to PWN)
  • WN structure (minimally: synset, hyponymy)

LanguageResource nameDeveloper(s)ContactDistributor/License
AfrikaansAfrikaans WordNet North-West University, South Africa
Gerhard van Huyssteen
AlbanianAlbaNet Vlora University, Vlora, Albania
Ervin Ruci http://fjalnet.com/shqip.xml
ArabicArabic WordNetArabic WordNet Christiane Fellbaum http://www.globalwordnet.org/AWN/
Free download of XML formatted DB
Asian wordnet Asian WordNet NICT, Kyoto, Japan Virach Sornlertlamvanich, Hitoshi Isahara Open Source download
Bantu languagesAfrican WordNetUniversity of South Africa (UNISA) in Pretoria Sonja Bosch .
BasqueBasquWordNetUniversity of the Basque Country Eneko Agirre (eneko@si.ehu.es) aradiaz@si.ehu.es browse online only at http://ixa2.si.ehu.es/cgi-bin/mcr/public/wei.consult.perl
Spanish-Catalan-Basque.Consortium of Spanish Universities German Rigau e-mail:german.rigau AT ehu.es browse online only at http://garraf.epsevg.upc.es/cgi-bin/wei4/public/wei.consult.perl
BulgarianBulNet Institute of Bulgarian Language
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria
Prof. Sv. KoevaELDA/ELRA
BulgarianBalkaNetUniversity of Plovdiv – faculty of mathematics and computer science, Bulgaria George Atanassov Totkov e-mail: totkov@pu.acad.bg.
ChineseAcademica SinicaAcademica Sinica Chu-Ren Huang, Shu-Kai Hsiehbrowse online only at http://bow.sinica.edu.tw/
CroationCroatian WordNet University of Zagreb, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Department of Linguistics Marko Tadic marko.tadic@ffzg.hr
CzechEuroWordNetMasaryk University Faculty of Informatics Karel Pala e-mail: pala@fi.muni.cz ELDA/ELRA (restricted, license fee required)
DanishDanNetCenter for Sprogteknologi, Københavns Universitet, Copenhagen, Denmark and Society for Danish Language and Literature, DSL, Denmark. Bolette Sandford Pedersen e-mail: bspedersen@hum.ku.dk and Jørg Asmussen, e-mail: ja@dsl.dk Open source download
DutchEuroWordNetVan Dale BV, University of Amsterdam Piek Vossen e-mail:p.vossen@let.vu.nl ELDA/ELRA (restricted, license fee required)
EnglishWordNet 2.0Princeton University Christiane Fellbaum e-mail: Fellbaum@princeton.edu Princeton U. (free download)
EnglishEuroWordNetUniversity of Sheffield Yorick Wilks e-mail: yorick@dcs.sheffield.ac.uk ELDA/ELRA (restricted, license fee required)
EstonianEuroWordNetUniversity of Tartu Kadri Vider email: kadri.vider@ut.ee ELDA/ELRA (restricted, license fee required) or browse for free
FinnishFinnWordNetUniversity of Helsinki Krister Lindén free download
FrenchEuroWordNetUniversité d’ Avignon et des Paysdu Vaucluse (AVI)Laboratoire dÍnformatique
Memodata, Caen
Marc El-Beze e-mail: marc.elbeze@lia.univ-avignon.fr
Dominique Dutoit, email: d.dutoit@memodata.com
ELDA/ELRA (restricted, license fee required)
FrenchWOLF Alpage (INRIA / University Paris 7) Benoît Sagot: benoit.sagot@inria.fr download
Cecill-C license (LGPL compatible)
GermanGermaNetUniversität Tübingen Erhard Hinrichs e-mail:  eh@sfs.uni-tuebingen.de contact (free for academic use, restricted for other types of usage, licences available through the GermaNet homepage")
GermanEuroWordNetEberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen Erhard Hinrichs e-mail:  eh@sfs.uni-tuebingen.de ELDA/ELRA (restricted, license fee required)
GreekBalkaNetComputer Engineering and Informatics Department,Database Laboratory,Patras University Prof. Dimitris N. Christodoulakis e-mail: dxri@cti.gr.
HebrewHebrew WordNet University of Haifa, Israel Shuly Wintner e-mail:shuly@cs.haifa.ac.il U. Haifa (free download) and browse online
HindiHindi WordNetDepartment of Computer Science and Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Mumbai- 400 076, India Professor Dr. Pushpak Bhattacharyya e-mail: pb@cse.iitb.ac.in www.cfilt.iitb.ac.in/wordnet/webhwn open source (GNU FDL)
Hungarian.University of Szeged et al Alexin Zoltán e-mail: alexin@inf.u-szeged.hu.
IcelandicNordicNetViki, Iceland Heidar Jon Hannesson e-mail: heidar@viki.is.
ItalianEuroWordNetInstituto di LinguisticaComputazionale C.N.R. Nicoletta Calzolari e-mail: glottolo@ilc.pi.cnr.it ELDA/ELRA (restricted, license fee required)
ItalianMultiWordNetIRST, Trento, Italy Emanuele Pianta browse online, license required for download
IrishLSG ("Líonra Séimeantach na Gaeilge")Saint Louis University, Missouri, USA Kevin Scannell Data are available for free download, linked from the main project site Also available for browsing in a 3d graph browser
Japanese Japanese WordNet NICT, Kyoto, Japan Hitoshi Isahara (Kyoto), Francis Bond Open Source download
Japanese/Chinese/German/EnglishMulti-Lingual Semantic Network project . Darren CookFree browse and download
KannadaIndianNet. Senthil Nathan e-mail: zsenthil@yahoo.com.
Korean.. Seo Jung Yun e-mail: seojy@ccs.sogang.ac.kr.
KoreanKorLex (Korean WordNet)Korean Language Processing Lab at Pusan National University Aesun Yoon e-mail: asyoon@pusan.ac.kr browse online (login as ‘guest’)
KoreanAlexKorKorean Language Processing Lab at Pusan National University Dominique Dutoit e-mail: d.dutoit@memodata.com browse online
Latin.University of Verona Stefano Minozzi stefano.minozzi@lettere.univr.it http://multiwordnet.fbk.eu/
Latvian.Institute of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Latvia Normunds Gruzitis, email:normundsg@ailab.lvinactive project
MacedonianMacedonian WordNet Ss. Cyril and Methodius University, & Staffordshire University Martin Saveski & Igor Trajkovski Available upon request to Dr. Saveski under Creative Commons, Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported license
Maltese.University of Malta Michael Spagnol spagnol@maltanet.net
Marathi.Department of Computer Science and Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Mumbai- 400 076, India Professor Dr. Pushpak Bhattacharyya e-mail: pb@cse.iitb.ac.in www.cfilt.iitb.ac.in/wordnet/webmwn
MoldavianBalkaNet Kishinev, Moldova, Institute of Mathematics of Academy of Sciences of Moldova Valentina Demidova.
Nepali.Kathmandu University Niraj Shrestha niraj@ku.edu.np
NorwegianNorwegian wordnetBergen University, Norway Helge Dyvik e-mail: helge.dyvik@lili.uib.no.
Oriya.Utkal University Sanghamitra Mohanty http://www.ilts-utkal.org/.
PersianPersiaNetNew Jersey, USA F. Keyvan e-mail: FKeyvan@PersiaNet.us.
PersianFarsNetShahid Beheshti University, Tehran, Iran, and Iran Telecommunication Research Center (ITRC) Mehrnoush Shamsfard http://nlp2.sbu.ac.ir/projects/farsnet
PolishplWordNet/ SlowosiecWroclaw University of Technology Dr. Maciej Piasecki available online or research only download license also available
PolishPolishWordNetAdam Mickiewicz University (Poznan', Poland) Prof. Z. Vetulani not available yet, but will be at http://www.staff.amu.edu.pl/~zlisi/index.en.html
PortugueseWordNet.PT - Portuguese WordNet Centro de Linguística da Universidade de Lisboa Palmira Marrafa e-mail: Palmira.Marrafa@netcabo.pt

available online only

Brazilian Portuguese.Sao Paulo, Brazil Bento Diaz.
RomanianBalkaNet University "Al.I.Cuza" Iasi, Romania and
Institute for Artificial Intelligence, Romanian Academy, Bucharest
Dan Cristea e-mail:dcristea@infoiasi.ro
Dan Tufis e-mail:tufis@racai.ro
online version
RomanianRomainian WordNet Institute for Artificial Intelligence, Romanian Academy, Bucharest Dan Tufis e-mail:tufis@racai.ro online version only
Russian. Ilya Gelfenbeyn e-mail: ighmail@gmail.comFree download
Russian RussNet Department of Applied & Mathematical Linguistics, University of Saint Petersburg, Russia Irina Azarova license required, sample available for free
Russian.Center for Information Research  at the Computer Center of the Moscow State University. Tatyana Yudina e-mail:  cir@online.ru.
Sanskrit.Utkal University Sanghamitra Mohanty http://www.ilts-utkal.org/.
SerbianBalkaNetFaculty of Mathematics, University of Belgrade, Serbian Professors Gordana Pavlovic-Lazetic e-mail: gordana@poincare.matf.bg.ac.yu Dusko Vitas e-mail: vitas@poincare.matf.bg.ac.yu.
SloveniansloWNet Dept. of Translation, Faculty of Arts, University of Ljubljana & Dept. for Knowledge Technologies, Jozef Stefan Institute Darja Fiser: darja.fiser@guest.arnes.si Contact Darja Fiser: darja.fiser@guest.arnes.si Creative Commons License (attribution, non-commercial, share-alike)
SpanishEuroWordNetUNED/UPC/UBFelisa Verdejo e-mail: felisa@lsi.uned.es ELDA/ELRA (restricted, license fee required)
Swedish.Dept. of Swedisch University of Goteborg Maria Toporowska Gronostaj e-mail: Gronostaj@svenska.gu.se .
Swedish.Department of Linguistics & Phonetics, LundUniversity Åke Viberg e-mail: Ake.Viberg@ling.lu.se .
TamilTamil Wordnet AU-KBC Research Centre MIT Campus of Anna University Chromepet, Chennai 600 044, India Ph: 91-44-22232711/22234885 Fax: 91-44-22231034 L. Sobha e-mail: sobha@au-kbc.org tamil wornet project open source download
Thai ,Korean, Japanese, Indonesian, Myanmar, Vietnamese, Mongolian, Bengali Asian WordNet National Electronics and Computer Technology Center (NECTEC), 112 Phahonyothin Road, Klong Nueng, Klong Luang, Pathumthani 12120, Thailand Virach Sornlertlamvanich e-mail: virach.sornlertlamvanich@nectec.or.th browse online only, Download to be available under open source (BSD) license
TurkishBalkaNetCentre for Turkish language and speech processing Bilkent university Kemal Oflazerbrowse online

Related Products

ProductResource nameOwner(s)ContactDistributor
Domain lexiconWordnet DomainsIRST, Trento, Italy Bernardo Magnini e-mail: magnini@itc.it.
German ThesaurusOpenThesaurusDaniel Naber Daniel Naber free download from OpenThesaurus

[home | webmaster]