Katerva Awards Finalists for 2011 Announced

19 September 2011
Katerva Awards Finalists for 2011 Announced

Katerva has announced the top 5 finalists in each of its 10 categories of sustainability. These finalists represent the most promising new ideas and initiatives on the planet. Katerva would like to recognize all of these nominees for their excellence in the realm of sustainability works.

See Katerva’s 2011 Finalists here:

Food Security | Behavioral Change | Economy | Protected Areas | Gender Equality
Materials & Resources | Human Development | Energy & Power | Transportation | Urban Design

The Katerva Awards represent the pinnacle of recognition for global sustainability excellence. Through them, sustainable ideas and initiatives that survive a rigorous review process spanning the full year are recognized, highlighted, and accelerated toward impact at a global level. The process involves about 500 individuals and 12 partner organizations from around the world.

These finalists are now entering an expert level review to determine a single winner in each of Katerva’s 10 categories of sustainability. The categories are Food Security, Behavioral Change, Economy, Protected Areas, Gender Equality, Materials & Resources, Human Development, Energy & Power, Transportation, and Urban Design. Winners in each of these categories will be announced during the second half of October.

Of the category winners, a single grand prize winner will be selected as the Best Sustainability Idea of the Year by a panel of renowned sustainability luminaries. This panel is made up of Jeremy Rifkin (President of the Foundation on Economic Trends), Marina Silva (Acclaimed Environmentalist and Politician), Gunter Pauli (Director of the Zero Emissions Research Initiative), Jean-Michel Cousteau (Explorer, Environmentalist, and Educator), Mary Robinson (Former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights), Lord St. John of Bletso (Member of the House of Lords and Clean Tech Advocate), Dr. J. Craig Venter (American Biologist known for sequencing the human genome), and John Elkington (Executive Chairman of Volans and Founder of SustainAbility).

The grand prize winner of the Katerva Awards will be announced at a press event in the Lincoln Center of New York City on December 7, 2011. The grand prize winner will immediately be introduced to a number of partner organizations as well as renowned business thought leaders Ken Blanchard and Marshall Goldsmith. These partners and individuals will assist the winner in intelligently growing and accelerating their impact on the world.

The full list of finalists is also available through coverage of the finalist announcement at Forbes.com and the Guardian.

Bookmark and Share

Tags: , , , ,


Leave a Reply