Rt Hon Denis MacShane

Denis MacShane





Address as

Mr MacShane

Contact details


House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Tel: 020 7219 4060
Fax: 020 7219 6888


4 Hall Grove, Rotherham, S60 2BS
Tel: 01709 837577
Fax: 01709 835622


Electoral history

Contested Solihull October 1974 general election. Member for Rotherham 5 May 1994 by-election to 2010, for Rotherham (revised boundary) since 6 May 2010 general election

Parliamentary career

Foreign and Commonwealth Office 1997-2005: PPS: to Joyce Quin, Derek Fatchett and Tony Lloyd as Ministers of State 1997-99, to Geoff Hoon as Minister of State 1999, Joint PPS to the Ministers of State 1999-2001, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State 2001-02, Minister of State 2002-05

Party groups

Labour Whip suspended October 2010

Select committees

Member: Deregulation 1996-97

International bodies

Member: Council Royal Institute of International Affairs, Council of Europe and NATO Parliamentary Assemblies 2005-

Political interests

International economics, European Union, manufacturing

Countries of interest

Europe, East and South East Asia

General Election 2010 - Rotherham

Name Party Votes %
MacShane, Denis Lab 16741 44.53%
Whiteley, Jackie Con 6279 16.7%
Taylor, Rebecca Lib Dem 5994 15.95%
Guest, Marlene BNP 3906 10.39%
Thirlwall, Peter Ind 2366 6.3%
Vines, Caven UKIP 2220 5.91%
Result Lab Hold (8% from Lab to Con)