29th European Water Polo Championships – Zagreb 2010 

Qualified Teams


(Luxembourg) – After the Men’s Qualification Tournament played in three groups from April 30th to May 2nd, in Istanbul (TUR), Volos (GRE), and Oradea (ROU), the following teams have qualified for the European Water Polo Championships to be held in Zagreb (CRO) from August 29th to September 11th, 2010 : Spain, Greece, Romania, Turkey, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, and Russia.

They join the teams already qualified from the previous edition of the Championships in Malaga (ESP) in 2008: Montenegro, Serbia, Hungary, Croatia, Italy, and Germany, thus completing the roster of twelve (12) participants in the Men’s competition.


In the Women’s category, the Qualification Tournament was played in Imperia (ITA) and Dordrecht (NED), with Italy, Netherlands, Germany, and Greece, qualifying for Zagreb 2010 and thus joining Russia, Spain, Hungary, and Croatia, as the eight (8) teams that will compete for the title this summer in the Croatian Capital. 


The draw to distribute the teams and determine the preliminary groups for the Championships will take place in Zagreb on May 21st.   



(May 5th, 2010)