COVINGTON COUNTY CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2011-2012

James Earl Clark, President Mike Wilcosky, Vice-President Babette Duty, Secretary-Treasurer

Becky Arnold
Paula Flowers
John Pope
James Arrington Goff
Barbara Harris
Sylvia Kelly
Ginger Kirkley
John Pope
Shasta Sanford
Frieda Whiddon
Jay Baggett, Ex. Offico

Program of Work 2011-1212

AMBASSADORS: Ginger Kirkley, Chairman; Crystal Kimbrough Keena Hull, Bronna Ray, Gwen Allen, Sharon Reynolds, Lisa Polk

- Enlist ambassadors from area banks to contact businesses in the surrounding communities in the county
- Promote and encourage attendance at ribbon cuttings, open house, meetings and special events
- Visit businesses and encourage participation in chamber programs and events

BUSINESS COMMITTEE: Mike Wilcosky, Chairman; Roy Arnold, Twila Dickinson, Ann Powell, Tina Softee, Shasta Stewart

- To increase the number of business memberships in the chamber
- Continue "Santa Shops Covington County First" Campaign
- Coordinate county-wide seasonal business promotions

INDUSTRY COMMITTEE: Jay Baggett, Dr. Shannon Campbell, Angie Cognevich-MDA, Don Jordan, Gena Lentz

- To sponsor small business development workshops in conjunction with Jones County Junior College Small Business Development Center
- Committee members visit business and industry
- MDA representative to visit local businesses and industry to confirm value of chamber membership – Priority One Program

- MEMBERSHIP AND FINANCE: Chris Hull, Chairman; Mary Ann Shoemake, Dianne Ambrosier, Mitch Boleware
- Prepare 2011-2012 Covington County Chamber of Commerce Budget for recommendation to the Board of Directors
- Provide monthly financial statements to Board of Directors
- Perform review of budget and expense accounts periodically for Board of Directors
- Promote membership of new members by direct solicitation and other means
- Promote "value" and benefits of chamber membership

CHRISTMAS IN THE PARK: Marie Shoemake, Clay Ebarb, James Arrington Goff, Jack Mauldin, Charles Beasley, Rev. Rocky Holston, Jack Mauldin, Marlene Mitchell, Jerry Williamson

- Expand Christmas in the Park with the additional angels, memorials and honorariums
- Place angels on light poles on North Fir Avenue
- Enlist church volunteers to work entrance/exit gates
- Enlist workers to help put up park displays

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY: Dr. Shannon Campbell, President; Mayor V.O. Smith, Mayor Billy Karolyi, Mayor Bob McNair, Staci Cothran, Charles Fairley, Alan Fulton, Stanley Williams

- Work with state and regional agencies to promote Covington County
- Help local business and industry to grow and expand

EDUCATION: Maxine McGowan, Chairman; Susan Deen, Latrice Griffith, La Shanda Myers, Angie Palmer, Zella Weathersby, Carolyn Conger

- Continue job shadowing program at the secondary level.
- Sponsor Career Day at the elementary level
- Combine Partners in Education with Mississippi Scholars. Work to enhance these programs by utilizing the corporate sponsors to do classrooms presentations beginning in the 8th grade. Work with school counselors to promote participation in each school.
- Implement recognition of special accomplishments of students, teachers, and partners of each school on Awards Day
- Promote the Education Foundation
- Promote increased participation from students, teachers, and staff in community functions such as the Art Expo and the 5-K Run/Walk

ENVIRONMENTAL ENHANCEMENT AND BEAUTIFICATION: Janice Bryant, Chairman; Becky Arnold, Keena Hull and Michelle Hall

• Promote a "Clean-up/Fix up" week in the county

- Promote revitalization in downtown areas of Collins, Seminary and Mt. Olive as recommended by Mississippi Main Street
- Implement a recycling program in the county

The Clean-up/Fix-up week will include a one day sight to drop off environmental waste items such as paint cans, old appliances, etc.

GOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS: Barbara Harris, Chairman; Wallace Allred, Ben Ford, Cindy Sanford

- Set February meeting date with Elected Officials
- To foster a closer working relationship with elected officials and community leaders to address matters concerning the communities and county

OKATOMA FESTIVAL: James Clark, Chairmen; Barbara Harris, Co-Chairma, Dr. Kyle Bass, Kathe Bryant, Carolyn Cogner, Susan Deen, Brian Dickens, Babette Duty, Jeff Hall, Harvey Lott, Wryn and Tommy Morgan/Lisa Taormina, Ronnie Robinson, Frieda Whiddon

- To promote Covington County by sponsoring the 23rd annual Okatoma Festival
- Enlist festival honoree, entertainment, exhibits, booths, etc.
- Solicit festival sponsorships and workers
- Meet with community officials for promotion and support
- Coordinate and encourage cooperation of local officials, volunteers, educators, and city/county employees for setting up, implementing and closing of the festival

PUBLIC RELATIONS AND HOSPITALITY: Babette Duty, Chairman; Chris DaQuila, Sandra Reeves, Shasta Sanford

- To prepare the designated facilities for general membership meetings
- To register attendees at general membership meetings
- · To welcome new business and industry
- To assist with the Covington County Miss Hospitality Program

TOURISM: Jo Lynn Mitchell, Chairman; Twila Dickinson, Martha Diehl, James Arrington Goff, Angie Lee, Martha Diehl, Lynda Sanford, Marilyn Saulters, Frieda Whiddon

- Promote tourist attractions in Covington County
- Keep tourism racks in county filled with current brochures
- Work with tourist attractions to promote other businesses in the county
- Update website to entice tourist to visit Covington County
- Keep website updated with new businesses listings and events
- Mail tourism brochures to Mississippi Welcome Centers

"PEOPLE WORKING TOGETHER TO MAKE YOUR COUNTY BETTER"

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2011-2012

James Earl Clark, President Mike Wilcosky, Vice-President Babette Duty, Secretary-Treasurer

Becky Arnold Paula Flowers James Arrington Goff Barbara Harris Sylvia Kelly Ginger Kirkley John Pope Shasta Sanford Frieda Whiddon Jay Baggett, Ex. Offico

COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS

Ambassadors	Ginger Kirkley
Business	Mike Wilcosky
Christmas in the Park	Volunteers
Education	Maxine McGowan
Economic Development AuthorityDr. Shannon Campbell	

Environmental Enhancement/Janice Bryant	
Beautification	
Governmental Affair	Barbara Harris
Hospitality and Public Relations	Babette Duty
Industry	Jay Baggett
Membership and Finance	.Chris Hull
Okatoma Festival	James Clark
	Barbara Harris
Tourism	.Jo Lynn Mitchell
Executive Director	Marie Shoemake