00 - 00 : 00 : 00

Banner

Film Listings

Wed Apr 11, 2012

Fri Apr 13, 2012

Mon Apr 16, 2012

Fri Apr 20, 2012

Wed Apr 25, 2012

Fri Apr 27, 2012

Fri May 04, 2012

Wed May 09, 2012

Fri May 11, 2012

Wed May 16, 2012

Fri May 18, 2012

Fri May 25, 2012

Fri Jun 01, 2012

Fri Jun 08, 2012

Fri Jun 15, 2012

Fri Jun 22, 2012

Fri Jun 29, 2012

Tue Jul 03, 2012

Fri Jul 06, 2012

Fri Jul 13, 2012

Fri Jul 20, 2012

Fri Jul 27, 2012

Fri Aug 03, 2012

Fri Aug 10, 2012

Wed Aug 15, 2012

Fri Aug 17, 2012

Fri Aug 24, 2012

Fri Aug 31, 2012

Fri Sep 14, 2012

Fri Sep 21, 2012

Fri Sep 28, 2012

Fri Oct 05, 2012

Fri Oct 12, 2012

Fri Oct 19, 2012

Fri Oct 26, 2012

Fri Nov 02, 2012

Fri Nov 09, 2012

Fri Nov 16, 2012

Wed Nov 21, 2012

Fri Dec 14, 2012

Sat Dec 15, 2012

Wed Dec 19, 2012

Fri Dec 21, 2012

more listings



Zach Braff Adapts to 'The High Cost of Living'

Posted by Eric Lavallee on Mar 04, 2010
Source: -

Zach Braff is working on a new indie project - Canadian indie. Currently filming in Montreal, the helmer/star of Garden State is the topliner in Deborah Chow's directorial debut - a dark drama that will most likely receive its world premiere at TIFF next September. The project was awarded the inaugural Kodak New Vision Mentorship under the guidance of acclaimed director Patricia Rozema (Kit Kittredge: An American Girl) to develop the film.

Despite the supporting cast of French actors, I don't think The High Cost of Living is a multi-language pic. This tells the story of a young pregnant woman whose world falls apart when she loses her baby in a hit and run accident. It starts with an accident. Henry (Zach Braff) makes a wrong turn and crashes into Nathalie (Isabelle Blais, Denys Arcand's The Barbarian Invasions). In a fit of panic, and over the legal limit, he cuts and runs, leaving Nathalie lying in the street, unconscious, bleeding and eight months pregnant. She wakes up in the hospital only to find her bright future destroyed and the baby she is still carrying, dead. Her husband, Michel (Patrick Labbé) is too unnerved and emotionally bereft to deal with the tragedy. As her life unravels, she stumbles across Henry – who has been searching for his victim. Unaware of what he has done, Nathalie sees him as an unlikely guardian angel, everything Michel is not – compassionate, charming and a little crazy. She finds a welcome relief in the tall, rumpled stranger that seems only too willing to offer her refuge. But Henry has his own problems. His past misdeeds are catching up, and he soon discovers that the police are steadily closing in. The inevitable collision will force both Henry and Nathalie to confront loss, labour and life, and to ultimately decide whether the cost of living is worth the price.



Comments

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to add a comment
Banner

Reviews

Review: The Kid With a Bike

Review: The Kid With a Bike

"Despite the one-dimensionality of its anti-patriarchal theme (appeasing the knee-jerk expectations of European film fest audiences), the Dardennes avoid cheapening the story with ideological smugness, achieving an emotional resonance without easy sentimentality."


more reviews

Interviews

main feature right

Review: Wrong

"Encoded in the outlandish humor that pervades the film are bits of commentary on everyday life. The most overt is Dupieux's urging to appreciate the relationships around you, which is manifested in the dog kidnapping, but also in a subplot in which a woman from the pizzeria moves between men without even realizing they have changed. Another cultural critique is found in the rainy office, an instantly recognizable visual metaphor for how dreary a 9 to 5 job can be."


right column more interviews

Festivals

festival photo

2012 Tribeca Film Festival (11th)

Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal and Craig Hatkoff founded the Tribeca Film Festival in 2001 following the attacks on the World Trade Center to spur the economic and cultural revitalization of the lower Manhattan district through an annual celebration of film, music and culture. The Festival’s mission is to help filmmakers reach the broadest possible audience, enable the international film community and general public to experience the power of cinema and promote New York City as a major filmmaking center. Tribeca Film Festival is well known for being a diverse international film festival that supports emerging and established directors.


festival link more

Community Film Ratings

community link more