Welcome

Photo: Gene Cartagena - used by permission
Photo: Gene Cartagena - used by permission

Tom Coxworth of CKUA (Calgary) recorded me in a two hour interview - with varied musical interjections - to be broadcast on www.ckua.com starting at 10 a.m. Mountain Time (noon Eastern, 9 a.m. Pacific) this Sunday February 19. Tom and I went all over the map (chart?) of nautical song and much besides. You can now listen to the recording here. Tom.

Ahoy mates! And welcome to the Tom Lewis home page. If you like songs and stories of the sea, new and old, you'll certainly enjoy Tom's singing, his stories and his recordings.

Tom is a 24-year veteran of Her Majesty's Royal Naval diesel submarines; although now he's comfortably located on dry land in British Columbia, Canada. His songs cover a wide range of nautical topics, from life on board H.M. ships, through the loneliness and lure of the sea, to traditional shanties and classic nautical poetry, set to his own, and others' melodies.

Often accompanying himself with button accordion or ukulele; he's pictured here, on-stage at Mystic Seaport, recounting the very funny tale (tail?) of a randy canine ship's mascot: BUNTS (pictured in the cover-art of the SEA-DOG, SEE DOG! recording).