

Conservative Hereditary Peers' By-election

This note sets out the arrangements for the by-election following the death of the Earl of Northesk.

Electors

The Earl of Northesk was elected under Standing Order 9(2)(i)(b), among the "42 peers elected by the Conservative hereditary peers". Therefore, under Standing Order 10(2), the electorate will be the excepted Conservative hereditary peers, of whom there are currently 47.

Candidates

Those eligible to be candidates are the hereditary peers on the Register maintained by the Clerk of the Parliaments.

The deadline for registration of candidature was 5pm on Friday 28 May 2010.

33 candidates have registered to stand in this by-election. A list is given below.

Voting timetable

Ballot papers will be posted to the electors by Electoral Reform Services on Monday 7 June. Completed papers are required to be returned to the Clerk of the Parliaments either by post or in person by **5pm on Tuesday 22 June**. Electors are requested to use the pre-addressed envelopes that will be sent out along with the ballot papers.

Voting system

The Alternative Vote System will be used. Voters place the figure 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate they most strongly support, the figure 2 against the next most favoured candidate, and so on. Voters may express as many or as few preferences as they wish. In order to be elected, the successful candidate must receive at least as many votes as all the other candidates put together. In the event of this not happening after first preference votes have been allocated, the votes of the candidate receiving the lowest number of first preference votes will be shared out according to the second preference marked on them. This will be repeated until one candidate has at least half of the total number of votes (excluding any eliminated because all preferences have been exhausted).

Ballot papers will be invalidated if:

- any number is used more than once; or
- in the opinion of the Returning Officer (the Clerk of the Parliaments) the ballot paper is illegible or ambiguous.

Results

The count will be conducted by Electoral Reform Services.

The result will be announced in the House of Lords chamber by the Clerk of the Parliaments at a convenient moment (likely to be after oral questions) on Wednesday 23 June.

The full results, including the number of first preference votes cast for each candidate, will be available in the Printed Paper Office and the Library as soon as possible after the announcement by the Clerk of the Parliaments. The results will also be published online at <u>www.parliament.uk</u>.

I June 2010

List of Candidates

Abergavenny, M. Addison, V. Alexander of Tunis, E. Ashton of Hyde, L. Bethell, L. Biddulph, L. Birdwood, L. Bolton, L. Borwick, L. Cadman, L. Colgrain, L. De Ramsey, L. Gainford, L. Gormanston, V. Gray, L. Harlech, L. Harrowby, E.

Michael Pownall *Clerk of the Parliaments*

Hill, V. Killearn, L. Kinnoull, E. Limerick, E. Margadale, L. Massereene and Ferrard, V. Mountgarret, V. Poole, L. Rathcavan, L. Rowallan, L. Stockton, E. Sudeley, L. Swansea, L. Vivian, L. Weir, V. Younger of Leckie, V.

List of Electors

Elected by the Conservative hereditary peers

Arran, E.	Inglewood, L.
Astor, V.	Lindsay, E.
Astor of Hever, L.	Liverpool, E.
Attlee, E.	Lucas, L.
Bridgeman, V.	Luke, L.
Caithness, E.	Mancroft, L.
Cathcart, E.	Montagu of Beaulieu, L.
Courtown, E.	Montrose, D.
Crathorne, L.	Moynihan, L.
De Mauley, L.	Northbrook, L.
Denham, L.	Onslow, E.
Dundee, E.	Rotherwick, L.
Ferrers, E.	Selborne, E.
Glenarthur, L.	Selsdon, L.
Glentoran, L.	Shrewsbury, E.
Goschen, V.	Strathclyde, L.
Henley, L.	Swinfen, L.
Home, E.	Trefgarne, L.
Howe, E.	Trenchard, V.

Elected by the whole House and sitting as Conservative peersBrougham and Vaux, L.Lyell, L.Colwyn, L.Reay, L.Eccles, V.Skelmersdale, L.Elton, L.Ullswater, V.Geddes, L.States and the second s