

## ORDER OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 15, 2005

## 15 PEOPLE TO RECEIVE ORDER OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

VICTORIA – Recipients of the Order of British Columbia for 2005 were announced today by Lieutenant Governor Iona Campagnolo. Her Honour praised these outstanding citizens of B.C., who have attributed to strengthening the province in a variety of exceptional ways. "Our province welcomes each recipient to the distinction that their dedication merits as members of the Order of British Columbia."

This year's recipients are as follows:

- Dr. Raghbir Singh Bains of Surrey, cultural educator and volunteer activist.
- Denny Boyd of West Vancouver, long-serving print journalist with the Vancouver Sun.
- Dr. Felix A. Durity of Delta, acclaimed neurosurgeon, humanitarian and scholar.
- Charles Elliott of Brentwood Bay, Coast Salish Nation master carver.
- June E. Goldsmith, C.M., of Vancouver, founder and artistic director of "Music in the Morning" concert society.
- Dr. Edward John Hughes, O.C., of Duncan, renowned B.C. artist.
- Jack Jensen of Kelowna, legendary singer.
- Dr. Perry Robert William Kendall of Victoria, public health advocate of innovative health practices in B.C.
- William Patrick (W.P.) Kinsella, O.C., of Yale, one of Canada's most successful and prolific writers.
- Bob Lenarduzzi of Vancouver, former Olympic and World Cup soccer player and coach.
- E. George MacMinn, Q.C., of Victoria, senior parliamentary officer of the B.C. Legislative Assembly.
- Drs. Patrick and Edith McGeer of Vancouver, leading researchers of neurodegenerative diseases.
- Dr. Martha C. Piper, O.C., of Vancouver, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of British Columbia.
- Anthony von Mandl of Westbank, proprietor of Mission Hill Family Estate winery.

As in past years, recipients of the Order of British Columbia have been carefully selected from public nominations by an independent advisory committee. The Advisory Council, chaired by British Columbia Chief Justice Lance Finch, also includes Claude Richmond, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; Dr. Charles Jago, University of Northern British Columbia president; Aaron Dinwoodie, president of the Union of B.C. Municipalities; Athana Mentzelopoulos, deputy minister of the Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat; and two previous recipients of the Order, Barbara Brink and Dr. Donald Rix.

The presentation of these awards will take place at a ceremony at Government House on June 29, 2005, at 1 p.m.

The Order of British Columbia is the province's highest honour for outstanding achievement. Since the Order was first introduced in 1989, 218 people have received the award. Information about the Order of British Columbia, and previous recipients, is available at <a href="https://www.protocol.gov.bc.ca">www.protocol.gov.bc.ca</a> on the internet.

-30-

1 backgrounder attached.

For further information contact:

Sven Buemann 250 387-1616