Top navigation Players Awards Media Partners About
Change skin White Black
Partners
Time:   05:30:09 CET   20:30:09 PST   23:30:09 EST   12:30:09 Seoul   11:30:09 Beijing

NEWS
PGT outlines best paying games of 2011

By Stuart 'SwitchbacK' Macdonald
Jan 7, 2012 05:01


ImageProGamingTours.net decided to figure out which games paid out the most prize money in 2011.

The top three best paying games in esports throughout 2011 combined for a total of $5.2 million according to ProGamingTours.net, a site dedicated to tracking tournaments and providing details surrounding tournament prize money.

Just under half of the $5.2 million dished out over the three games went to—no surprise—Starcraft 2, with $2,525,775 changing hands across the year. That works out at just over $200,000 a month.

The games making up the remainder of the top three, DotA 2 with $1,698,500 and Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 with $1,010,000, had their prize funds boosted significantly by big-money tournaments that paid out $1.6 million and $1 million respectively.

Battlefield 3 will be the next game to play host to a huge prize tournament as the Worldwide Conquest event which is set to kick off some time this Spring has a $1.6 million prize purse.


RELATED NEWS

4 comments


Loading comments...


Partners