Harlan Ellison

1934 -

American author, editor and screenwriter

Harlan Ellison is an acclaimed speculative fiction writer who has produced over 1,000 works including short stories, novellas, screenplays, teleplays, and essays as well as literature, film, and television criticism. He has contributed to a number of popular television shows including The Outer Limits, Star Trek, The Alfred Hitchcock Hour, The Twilight Zone, and Babylon 5. His collections of television criticism, The Glass Teat and The Other Glass Teat are highly regarded. Ellison's writing is edgy and aggressive and his tone can be both humorous and dark. His large collection of awards includes 8 Hugo Awards, 4 Nebula Awards, 18 Locus Poll Awards, the Bradbury Award, 6 Bram Stoker Awards, 2 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, and 2 Georges Méliès fantasy film awards.

Selected Bibliography:

Ellison Wonderland (1962)

I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream (1967)

Dangerous Visions (ed.) (1967)

Again, Dangerous Visions (ed.) (1972)

Deathbird Stories (1975)

Angry Candy (1988)

Mefisto in Onyx (1993)

The Essential Ellison: a 50-Year Retrospective (2001)