Connie Willis

1945 -

American author

Connie Willis is one of the most award-winning authors of speculative fiction to date, with Hugo and Nebula Award wins in all fiction categories. Intricate storytelling, dry humor and strong empathy characterize her work. Willis' writing most often resides in areas of "soft" science fiction, but she also explores hard science fiction settings such as interstellar travel and post-apocalypse.

Willis began publishing science fiction with "Santa Titicaca" in Worlds of Fantasy in 1971. She turned to writing full time in the early 1980s, and readers soon took notice. Her first collection, Fire Watch (1985) includes "Fire Watch" (1982), a Hugo and Nebula Award winner for best novelette, and "A Letter from the Clearys" (1982), which also won a Nebula Award for best short story.

Her first two novels, Water Witch (1982) and Light Raid (1989), were written in collaboration with Cynthia Felice. Willis' first solo novel, Lincoln's Dreams (1987) won the John W. Campbell Memorial Award. Lincoln's Dreams employs time travel, one of Willis' favorite devices. Her second novel, Doomsday Book (1992), brought her even more attention, winning both a Hugo and Nebula Award. It returns to a setting established in "Fire Watch"—the history department of Oxford University of the near future—which sends observers back in time, in this case to the time of the Black Death. 1998's To Say Nothing of the Dog (Hugo Award, 1999) blends science fiction with comedy of manners and mystery as a historian from the same department bounces between the Victorian era and the Blitz.

Time travel is a favorite Willis theme, also Christmas tales, and the intersections of film and reality. A number of her Christmas stories are collected in Miracle and Other Christmas Stories (1999). CBS adapted Willis' novella "Just Like the Ones We Used to Know" into the movie Snow Wonder in 2005.

Selected Bibliography:
Fire Watch (1984)
Lincoln's Dreams (1987)
Doomsday Book (1992)
Remake (1994)
To Say Nothing of the Dog (1998)
Even the Queen: And Other Short Stories (1998)
Miracle and Other Christmas Stories (1999)
Passage (2001)
The Winds of Marble Arch and Other Stories: A Connie Willis Compendium (2007)