Gordon R. Dickson

1923 - 2001

American writer

Gordon Dickson was a prolific author of science fiction, publishing over 80 novels and many short stories since his first, "Trespass" (co-authored with Poul Anderson), was featured in Fantastic Story Quarterly in 1950.

His first novel, Alien from Arcturus (1956), established a tone of underlying seriousness which became marked in his later works, among them the sequence of novels — known alternately as the Childe Cycle or Dorsai series — which was to occupy much of his energy for decades. This ongoing series presents a dramatized, fictional evolutionary blueprint for humanity's ultimate expansion through the galaxy as an inherently ethical species, and has become his best-known work.

Dickson won the Nebula award for Best Novelette with "Call Him Lord" (1966). He was president of the Science Fiction Writers of America for 1969-71, and in 1981 he won Hugo awards for Lost Dorsai (1980) and the short story "The Cloak and the Staff."

Selected Bibliography:
The Man from Earth (1983)
Dickson! (1984)
Alien from Arcturus (1956)
Sleepwalker's World (1971)
The R-Master (1973)
Necromancer (1962)
The Tactics of Mistake (1971)
Soldier, Ask Not (1964)
The Genetic General (1959)
Lost Dorsai (1980)
Hour of the Horde (1970)
Timestorm (1977)

Courtesy of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Copyright © John Clute and Peter Nicholls 1993, 1999, published by Orbit, an imprint of the Time Warner Book Group UK.